Who said: "I find that a great part of the information I have was acquired by looking something up and finding something else on the way."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"I find that a great part of the information I have was acquired by looking something up and finding something else on the way." - Franklin P. Adams

Franklin Pierce AdamsFranklin Pierce Adams (1881–1960), was an American columnist who wrote under the pen name F.P.A. He was also part of the Algonquin Round Table of the 1920s and 1930s (a group of New York City writers, critics, actors and wits that met for lunch every day at a round table at the Algonquin Hotel).

He was born in Chicago, Illinois and graduated from the Armour Scientific Academy in 1899, after which he attended the University of Michigan for one year. After a brief time with the Chicago Journal he wrote for the New York Evening Mail from 1904 to 1913, where he started his column, that became known as "The Conning Tower"*, which consisted of verse and humor during the week and, on Saturdays, an account of his week's activities that imitated the style of Samuel Pepys.

He and his column moved to the New York Herald Tribune in 1913. During World War I he worked on the Army's newspaper, the Stars and Stripes. After the war he returned to New York to work at the New York World which closed in 1931. He returned to the Herald Tribune for a few years, then moved to the New York Post before ending his column in 1941. He died in 1960.

*A conning tower is a raised, enclosed observation post in a submarine or the armored pilothouse of a warship.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.