Who said: "It is among the commonplaces of education that we often first cut off the living root and then try to replace its natural functions by artificial means."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"It is among the commonplaces of education that we often first cut off the living root and then try to replace its natural functions by artificial means. Thus we suppress the child's curiosity and then when he lacks a natural interest in learning he is offered special coaching for his scholastic difficulties." - Alice Duer Miller

Alice Duer MillerAlice Duer Miller (1874 -1942) was born and raised in the wealthy and influential Duer family of New York. Shortly after her formal debut into society, her family's wealth was lost in a bank crisis. Beginning in 1895 she studied mathematics and astronomy at Barnard College, earning her way through publishing short stories, essays and poems in national magazines.

She graduated in 1899, marrying Henry Wise Miller the same year. She taught for a few years until Henry's income could support them both, at which time she devoted herself to writing. Her specialty was "light fiction"; her best remembered novel being The White Cliffs (1940) about a marriage of an American woman to a British soldier. From the 1920s a number of her stories were made into successful movies, and she worked in Hollywood as a writer.

She was very active in the women's suffrage movement, writing a column for the New York Tribune titled "Are Women People?" Her columns were published in two volumes; Are Women People: A Book of Rhymes for Suffrage Times (1915) and Women are People! (1917).

Henry Wise Miller published a biography of his wife, All Our Lives, in 1945.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.