Who said: "A classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"A classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say." – Italo Calvino

Italo CalvinoThe Italian journalist, short-story writer and novelist Italo Calvino (1923-1985) was born in Santiago de las Vegas, Cuba. His parents were the Italian botanists Mario Calvino and Evelina Mameli. Shortly after he was born they returned to Italy where he grew up in Sanremo on the Italian Riviera.

In 1941 he moved to Turin, and in 1943 joined the Italian Resistance (more than 300,000 Italians joined the Resistance fighting German occupying forces and Italian fascists); later he joined the (then clandestine) Italian Communist Party. In 1947 he graduated from Turin University with a thesis on Joseph Conrad; after which he wrote for the official Communist paper L'Unità, and also for a weekly cultural magazine, and later the communist weekly political magazine Rinascita.

In 1957 he unexpectedly left the Communist party and become co-editor of Il Menabò di letteratura, where he stayed for many years. His first novel Il sentiero dei nidi di ragno (1947, The Path to the Nest of Spiders), was inspired by his participation in the Italian Resistance. He turned to fantasy and allegory in the 1950s, for which he is best remembered.

He traveled widely, lecturing in many countries including France, Japan, Mexico, and the USA, He won many honors including being made an Honorary Member of the American Academy and being awarded the prestigious French Légion d'Honneur. He died in 1985 in Siena of a cerebral hemorrhage.

"Everything can change, but not the language that we carry inside us, like a world more exclusive and final than one's mother's womb." - Calvino

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.