Who said: "Tread softly because you tread on my dreams."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"But I, being poor, have only my dreams; I have spread my dreams under your feet; Tread softly because you tread on my dreams."
-- W.B. Yeats


W.B. Yeats William Butler Yeats (1865–1939), winner of the 1923 Nobel Prize for Literature, was born in Dublin, Ireland and educated in London and Dublin. He was a leading figure in the Irish Literary Revival - a late 19th and early 20th-century movement that aimed to revive ancient Irish folklore, legends, and traditions in new literary works. He co-founded the Irish Literary Theatre in 1899 and was a director of the Abbey Theatre, Dublin. From 1922-28 he was also a senator of the Irish Free State*.

In 1888 he published The Wanderings of Oisin, a long narrative poem that established his reputation; and in 1893 he published The Celtic Twilight, a book of peasant legends. In total, he wrote nearly 30 plays and a number of books of poetry. Critics consider his best poetry to be that inspired by personal longing - principally his unrequited love for Maud Gonne (an Irish actress and political activist who founded the revolutionary group, the Daughters of Erin) and his longing for the mythical "Irish Golden Age".

*The Irish Free State came into being following the signing of the Anglo-Irish Treaty in December 1921 and comprised of 26 of Ireland's 32 counties. The remaining 6 "Northern Ireland" counties already had their own government under the Government of Ireland Act 1920 and chose to opt out of the Free State and thus remained part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.