Who said: "Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some to be chewed on and digested."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some to be chewed on and digested." – Francis Bacon

Francis BaconThe Francis Bacon quoted here is the 17th century English philosopher and statesman – not the post war British painter of the same name. Bacon (1561-1626) studied at Cambridge, was called to the bar (qualified as a lawyer) in 1582, and became a Member of Parliament in 1584. Having found favor with the newly crowned James I, he worked his way through a variety of very senior positions including Solicitor General, Attorney General, Privy Counselor, Lord Keeper and Lord Chancellor, until he was accused of bribery and was fined and imprisoned. Although he was later pardoned he never returned to public office and died in debt in 1626.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.