Who said: "The silence between the notes is as important as the notes themselves."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"The silence between the notes is as important as the notes themselves." - Mozart

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composed over 600 works during his ridiculously short 35-year life (1756-1791). While you will almost certainly be familiar with his work, you may not know why he is known as Wolfgang Amadeus, when the baptismal records show he was christened as Joannes Chrysostomus Wolfgangus Theophilus!

This is why...

Joannes Chrysostomus is his saints name - given because he was born on January 27, which is the feast day of St John Chrysostom (a 4th century Archbishop of Constantinople).

Wolfgang was the name of Mozart's maternal grandfather. Like Chrysostom, it was adapted to Latin for the parish register.

Theophilus was the name of Mozart's godfather. It is Greek and translates either as "lover of God" or "loved by God". The equivalent in Latin is Amadeus, and in German Gottlieb. Mozart's father referred to his son as Gottlieb when writing to his publisher about Mozart's baptism; and there are many records of him being referred to by others as Wolfgang Gottlieb during his life, and by some early biographers after his death.

During his life his contemporaries appear to have referred to him as either "Wolfgang Amadeus" or "Wolfgang Gottlieb". Mozart himself was multilingual and used many variations on his name during his life, but his personal preference seems to be clear as Italian records from around 1770 indicate that he called himself "Wolfgango Amadeo"; and later in the 1770s, "Wolfgang Amadè". Perhaps most tellingly, on his wedding contract in 1782 he signed himself "Wolfgang Amadè Mozart".

It was after his death that the name "Wolfgang Amadeus" stuck. It was the name used to record his death in Vienna, and was also the name used by his widow in correspondence with the Emperor when petitioning for a pension. Some early biographers referred to him as "Wolfgang Gottlieb", but before long he had become firmly "Wolfgang Amadeus", despite the fact that during his life there is no record of him ever referring to himself as Amadeus, except in jest.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.