Who said: "Don't join the book burners..."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Dwight D Eisenhower"Don't join the book burners. Don't think you are going to conceal faults by concealing evidence that they ever existed. Don't be afraid to go into your library and read every book." - Dwight D. Eisenhower

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890-1969) was born in Denison, Texas, USA and trained at West Point in 1915. He was appointed assistant to General Douglas MacArthur in the Philippines (1935-39). During 1942-43 he commanded the Allied forces during the invasions of North Africa, Sicily and Italy; and in December 1943 he was named supreme commander of the Allied invasion of Normandy. He directed all campaigns between D-Day (June 1944) and the German surrender (May 1945), and then commanded the US occupation forces in Germany until 1946, when he returned to the USA to serve as army chief-of-state.

He retired from active duty in 1948. He served as president of Columbia University for two years and as head of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) for two years before running for President in 1952. With his motto 'I like Ike', he won a landslide victory against Adlai Stevenson, and served as President for two terms.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.