Who said: "Knowledge is of two kinds..."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Samuel Johnson"Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it." - Samuel Johnson

Dr Samuel Johnson (1709-1784) was born in Staffordshire, England, the son of a bookseller. He studied at Oxford for a time before financial considerations forced him to leave before obtaining his degree, in order to work as a teacher. In 1737 he went to London as a journalist. In 1747 he started work on his Dictionary of the English Language which he anticipated would take him three years, but took eight.

He published many works (Project Gutenberg have a very comprehensive online library of his works), especially after being awarded a crown pension in 1762, which allowed him to focus on writing and developing his reputation as a conversationalist. One of his main forums was the Literary Club, of which he was a founder member.

Note: Do not confuse Dr Samuel Johnson with Samuel Johnson (1822-1882), the Protestant religious leader, or even Samuel Johnson (1830-1909) a pioneer in agricultural regulation; not to mention Samuel Johnson (1882-1942), the syndicated columnist who opposed Roosevelt!

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.