Who said: "It is a fact of life that any discourse...will always please if it is five minutes shorter than people expect"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"It is a fact of life that any discourse, on any subject, whatever the occasion and whatever the status of the speaker, will always please if it is five minutes shorter than people expect." - Paul Johnson

English journalist, historian, speechwriter and author Paul Bede Johnson was born in 1928 in Manchester, educated at a private Roman Catholic school, and then at Magdalen College, Oxford. After graduating with a second-class honours degree he completed his national service in the army mainly in Gibraltar (a tiny British territory on the south coast of Spain). In 1952 he went to work in Paris, first for a French magazine as assistant editor, and then as Paris correspondent for the New Statesman.

After witnessing Franco's regime during his military service and the ferocious police response to the 1952 riots soon after his arrival in Paris, Johnson became strongly left-wing in his outlook. But by the 1970s his political pendulum had swung to embrace a distinctly conservative outlook. During the 1980s he was one of Conservative Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher's closest advisers and also wrote a regular column for the weekly conservative British magazine The Spectator (from 1981 to 2009), primarily addressing issues and events that he felt indicated a decline in society in general.

He still writes for The Spectator occasionally and also contributes to The Daily Telegraph, the The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and National Review. To date, in addition to numerous magazine and newspaper articles, he has he published over 40 books.

Strongly anti-communist, and popular with the conservative movement in the United States, he is known for statements that (would appear to intentionally) provoke. For example, some of his more controversial positions include defending Richard Nixon for Watergate and Oliver North's involvement in the 1986 Iran-Contra affair. Despite his early experiences with the regime during his military service, he apparently has been known to express qualified admiration for General Franco and, according to Heroes Are People, Too (2007), considers Chilean dictator Augusto Pinochet one of his heroes.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.