Who said: "Fanaticism consists in redoubling your effort when you have forgotten your aim"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Fanaticism consists in redoubling your effort when you have forgotten your aim - George Santayana

Spanish American philosopher and writer George Santayana lived most of the first fifty years of his life in the USA and wrote in English, but remained a Spanish citizen for life. He was born Jorge Agustín Nicolás Ruiz de Santayana y Borrás in Madrid, in 1863. At the age of nine he and his father moved to the USA to join George's mother and her three children by her first marriage (she had promised her first husband, a Boston merchant, that his children would be brought up in the USA). The marriage disintegrated soon after and George's father returned to Spain; George did not see him again until his late teens when he was able to take summer vacations in Europe.

Santayana attended Harvard University where he studied philosophy under William James and Josiah Royce. On graduating he studied in Berlin before returning to Harvard to write his dissertation and to teach. His students included T.S. Eliot, Robert Frost, Walter Lippman, Gertrude Stein and WEB Du Bois.

Although Santayana was raised and educated in the USA, and wrote in English, he remained a life-long Spanish citizen, returning to Europe in 1912 when he was forty-eight, never to return to the USA again. He spent some years in France and England, eventually settling in Rome where he lived until his death in 1952.

He wrote nineteen books in total including his main philosophical work, The Sense of Beauty (1896). After moving to Europe, he was able to live comfortably on money he had saved and a legacy from his mother, which was nicely supplemented late in life by the success of his only novel, The Last Puritan (1935).

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.