Who said: "In war there are no unwounded soldiers"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

In war there are no unwounded soldiers - Jose Narosky
(quoted in The Paperbark Tree by Goldie Goldbloom. Picador, 2011)

One might have thought that, in this day and age, it would be difficult to make a living writing and collecting aphrorisms, but Argentinian Jose Naraosky proves otherwise. The son of Eastern European immingrants, Narosky was born in 1930 in a province of Buenos Aires. He started to collect aphorisms as a child, many of them printed on the back of his father's cigarette packets.

He has worked as a journalist and has compiled a number of books of aphorisms. His first book, Si todos los hombres was published in 1975 and, as of 2007, had sold more than 670,000 copies in 32 editions. He has published a further eight books

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.