Who said: "Who dares to teach must never cease to learn"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Who dares to teach must never cease to learn" - John Cotton Dana

John Cotton Dana was born in Woodstock, Vermont in 1856. During his forty years as a public librarian he made many innovations that made public libraries more relevant to the daily lives of people.

After graduating from Dartmouth College, Dana studied law, which he practiced in Colorado for nine years until becoming director of the Denver Public Library in 1889. During his time at Denver Public Library he pioneered many of the concepts that would define his legacy; not least allowing patrons to browse the stacks for themselves, turning the library into a community center as much as a collection of books, and introducing the first ever children's library room - although it seems that he may have envisaged this space would be used by school teachers more so than the children themselves.

In 1898 he moved to Springfield, Massachusetts for four years where he introduced many of the same changes he had made in Denver. In addition, he made radical changes to the building itself - ordering walls and railings to be torn down so as to create a more open floor plan.

Choosing not to get involved in local politics, he left Springfield four years later for Newark, New Jersey. While there he established foreign language collections for immigrants and also developed the first collection intended to provide resources to business - the first of its kind in the USA. In addition he founded the Newark Museum and served as president of the American Library Association (which, since the mid-50s, has awarded the John Cotton Dana Public Relations Award each year to libraries exhibiting outstanding public relations)

Dana remained Newark Public Library's director until his death in 1929. In the years following, he was named "The First Citizen of Newark" and Newark's main library was named after him.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
  • Book Jacket
    Find Me Unafraid
    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.