Who said: "Believe those who are seeking the truth. Doubt those who find it."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Believe those who are seeking the truth. Doubt those who find it" - Andre Gide

French author André Gide (1869-1951) is best known for his fiction and autobiographical works. He won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1947.

Other quotes from Gide include

  • Everything that needs to be said has already been said. But, since no one was listening, everything must be said again.
  • Fish die belly-upward and rise to the surface; it is their way of falling.
  • One does not discover new lands without consenting to lose sight of the shore for a very long time.
  • It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for something you are not.
  • The color of truth is gray.
  • It is unthinkable for a Frenchman to arrive at middle age without having syphilis and the Cross of the Legion of Honor.
  • Know thyself. A maxim as pernicious as it is ugly. Whoever studies himself arrest his own development. A caterpillar who seeks to know himself would never become a butterfly.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.