Who said: "There is no worse robber than a bad book."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"There is no worse robber than a bad book."

Apparently, this is a popular Italian proverb, which led me to wonder what other proverbs the Italians might have up their sleeves which don't have a direct counterpart in English. Here are a few...

"La gatta frettolosa ha fatto i gattini ciechi."
"The hurried she-cat has made blind kittens."

"La madre degli idioti è sempre incinta."

"The mother of idiots is always pregnant."

"La vita è come un albero di natale, c'è sempre qualcuno che rompe le palle."

"Life is like a Christmas tree, there's always someone who breaks the balls."

"Il bene del matrimonio dura tre die - il male dura fino a la morte."

"The good of the marriage lasts three days - and the bad lasts til death."

"Se si disperdono spine, non camminare scalzi."
If you scatter thorns, don't go barefoot.

"Al contadino non far sapere quanto è buono il cacio con le pere."
"Don't tell a peasant how well cheese goes with pears."

... and the rather intriguing:

Per un punto, Martin perse la cappa!"

"Because of a period, Martin lost his post!"

This last proverb has its roots in a tale of an acolyte monk by the name of Martin who was told to write the Latin phrase "Porta patens esto. Nulli claudatur honesto" ("Be the door always open. Be not closed to any honest person") in reference to the doors of the monastary. Unfortunately, poor old Martin wrote "Porta patens esto nulli. Claudatur honesto." ("Be the door open to no one. Be it closed to honest people."), and thus lost his right to become a monk.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.