Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 8 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

American Booksellers Association and others support Apple at Supreme Court

Dec 03 2015: Shelf Awareness reports that The American Booksellers Association, Barnes & Noble, Authors United and the Authors Guild have filed a friend-of-the-court brief with the Supreme Court asking it to review the district court decision, upheld by the appeals court, against ...

    Full Story

    2015 National Book Awards Announced

    Nov 19 2015: The National Book Foundation has announced the 2015 winners of the National Book Awards:

    Fiction: Adam Johnson, Fortune Smiles: Stories (Random House (USA))

    Non-Fiction: Ta-Nehisi Coates, Between the World and Me (Spiegel & Grau / Penguin Random House)

    Poetry...

      Full Story

      Shareholders encouraged to vote in favor of plan to privatize Books-A-Million.

      Nov 18 2015: Institutional Shareholder Services, the independent proxy advisory firm, has recommended that stockholders of Books-A-Million vote in favor of the plan for the Anderson family to buy BAM and take it private.

        Full Story

        Costa Book Awards nominees announced

        Nov 18 2015: The nominees for the Costa Book Awards have been announced. The Costa Awards (known as the Whitbread Awards until 2006) are one of the UK's most prestigious and literary prizes recognizing some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK ...

          Full Story

          Mark your calendar for Indies First Day on Sat Nov 28

          Nov 18 2015: Mark your calendar for Indies First Day - a national campaign of activities and events in support of independent bookstores, first envisioned by author Sherman Alexie in 2013. It kicks off each November, on Small Business Saturday (November 28, 2015), when independent ...

            Full Story

            Take Your Child to a Bookstore Day - Saturday Dec 5

            Nov 16 2015: Saturday, December 5 is the sixth annual Take Your Child to a Bookstore Day. This year 700 bookstores will participate across all 50 US, plus a handful elsewhere. Novelist Jenny Milchman was inspired to start the event by taking her own children to the bookstore and ...

              Full Story

              Amazon reviews hijacked by conspiracy theorists and causes

              Nov 02 2015: The Seattle Times reports that organized groups are using the Amazon review system to push political and social agendas often only tangentially related to the products being sold. But Amazon appears to have no desire to deal with these reviews saying they are "authentic...

                Full Story

                Apple Petitions Supreme Court to Overturn E-books Decision

                Oct 30 2015: As expected, Apple on Wednesday officially asked the Supreme Court to overturn an appeals court decision affirming Judge Denise Cote’s 2013 verdict finding the company liable for its role in a conspiracy to fix e-books prices. The government now has 30 days to file a ...

                  Full Story

                  Member Benefits

                  Join Now!

                  Check the advantages!
                  Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

                    •  
                    • FREE
                    • MEMBER
                    • Range of media reviews for each book
                    • Excerpts of all featured books
                    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
                    • Browse by genre
                    • Book club discussions
                    • Book club advice and reading guides
                    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
                    •  
                    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
                    •  
                    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
                    •  
                    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
                    •  
                    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
                    •  
                    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
                    •  

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    Underground Airlines
                    by Ben Winters

                    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.