Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 7 of 235

View abbreviated list of news stories

Bertelsmann looking to raise stake in Random House

Mar 13 2017: German media group Bertelsmann is looking to raise its stake in its Random House joint venture with Pearson from 53 percent to between 70 and 75 percent and will find a long-term partner if necessary for the rest, its chief executive told Der Spiegel. The news comes ...

Full Story

Bridges of Madison County author dies aged 77

Mar 13 2017: Robert James Waller, whose gauzy, romantic novel “The Bridges of Madison County” became a runaway best seller on its publication in 1992 and the basis of a popular film, died on Friday at his home in Fredericksburg, Tex. He was 77.

Full Story

Did Jane Austen die of arsenic poisoning?

Mar 13 2017: The British Library published an article last week suggesting that Jane Austen, who died in 1817 aged 41 in 1817, was killed by arsenic poisoning.

Previous causes of her death have thought to have been either cancer or an adrenal disorder but an article published on...

Full Story

HarperCollins celebrates its 200th anniversary

Mar 07 2017: HarperCollins is launching a global campaign to celebrate the company's 200th anniversary. Robert Thomson, CEO of parent company News Corp., says: "We're excited to celebrate this milestone anniversary and give thanks to the employees, authors, librarians, booksellers, ...

Full Story

Caravan to Yale: The stolen child who became a star poet

Mar 05 2017: Ali Cobby Eckermann, an Aboriginal poet, forcibly taken from her mother when she was a young child, is one of eight writers to win a $162,000 Windham-Campbell prize from Yale University. The committee commended her for confronting "the violent history of Australia's ...

Full Story

Obamas pen deal with Penguin Random House

Mar 01 2017: Penguin Random House has acquired the rights for two books, to be written by former US President Barack Obama and his wife Michelle respectively. Details of the deal have not been announced but it is rumored that the deal cost Random House between $30-$60 million.

...

Full Story

Plenty of book-related nominations at this year's Oscars, but few winners

Feb 27 2017: Shelf Awareness reports that five of the nine best picture nominees at this year's Academy Awards were book related and there were plentiful book related nominations in other categories. But few award winners, particularly compared with recent years.

The winners were...

Full Story

Author Frank Delaney dies aged 74

Feb 24 2017: Irish-born author Frank Delaney, 74, died on February 21 after a stroke. His books include the novel Ireland, the nonfiction book Simple Courage, and an ongoing podcast on James Joyce's Ulysses. A new novel is forthcoming from Putnam.

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.