Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 5 of 235

View abbreviated list of news stories

Bob Dylan will receive his Nobel prize this weekend but when will he give his lecture?

Mar 29 2017: After months of suspense and typically inscrutable standoffishness, Bob Dylan, the elusive Nobel laureate, will finally accept his literature prize at a meeting with members of the Swedish Academy in Stockholm this weekend. Yet uncertainty remains as to how, or even ...

Full Story

Henrietta Lacks' family feuds as movie release date draws near

Mar 29 2017: Just weeks before the April 22 first broadcast of Oprah Winfrey's movie for HBO based on Rebecca Skloot's book, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, the Washington Post reports on the feud that has broken out between members of the Lacks family.

Full Story

Chet Cunningham, author of more than 450 books, dies aged 88

Mar 28 2017: Prolific writer Chet Cunningham, author of more than 450 books including Westerns, thrillers, military history, medical guides, died March 14 aged 88. Cunningham "credited his output to his daily deadline training as a journalist and to a work ethic that usually had him...

Full Story

New Bill Would Let Trump Pick the Next Register of Copyrights

Mar 24 2017: With a search for the next Register of Copyrights currently underway, a bill introduced in Congress yesterday would let Donald Trump make that appointment, rather than Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden.

Currently, the Register of Copyrights is appointed by and ...

Full Story

Colin Dexter, creator of the Inspector Morse novels, died Tuesday

Mar 21 2017: The crime writer Colin Dexter, creator of the much-loved character Inspector Morse, has died at the age of 86.

A statement from his publisher, Macmillan, said: "With immense sadness, Macmillan announces the death of Colin Dexter, who died peacefully at home in Oxford...

Full Story

National Book Critics Circle Awards

Mar 17 2017: The winners of the 2016 National Book Critics Circle Awards were announced last night:

Fiction: LaRose by Louise Erdrich
Nonfiction: Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City by Matthew Desmond
Poetry: House of Lords and Commons by Ishion Hutchinson
...

Full Story

Oxford comma dispute that could cost millions!

Mar 17 2017: The New York Times reports on a class-action lawsuit about overtime pay for truck drivers that hinges on perhaps the most polarizing punctuation mark - the Oxford comma.

Full Story

Read so you know the world

Mar 17 2017: Libyan author Hisham Matar offers an inspiring ode to the power of books in The New York Times:

"Whenever I was encouraged by my elders to pick up a book, I was often told, 'Read so as to know the world.' And it is true; books have invited me into different countries,...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.