Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 4 of 249

View abbreviated list of news stories

Christmas week sales jump 7% over 2016

Jan 02 2018: While holiday unit sales of print books got off to a slow start Thanksgiving weekend, they ended on a strong note. Print unit sales increased 7% in the week ended Dec. 24, 2017, over the comparable week in 2016 at outlets that report to NPD BookScan. The gain was driven...

Full Story

Sue Grafton dies aged 77.

Dec 29 2017: Sue Grafton, author of the alphabetically titled detective series that began in 1982 with "A Is for Alibi," died of cancer on Thursday night in Santa Barbara, Calif. She was 77.

With the publication of her latest book in August, Ms. Grafton’s alphabetical series had ...

Full Story

Book World, the fourth-largest bookstore chain in the USA, to close.

Dec 28 2017: Book World, the fourth-largest bookstore chain in the USA is closing. Founded in 1976, Book World sold hardcovers, paperbacks and sometimes tobacco in malls, downtowns and vacation areas across the Upper Midwest. It endured recessions, the expansion of superstores like ...

Full Story

The pretensions of book thieves...

Dec 28 2017: Electric Lit asks indie bookstores which books are most frequently stolen and why - and finds a link between pretentiousness and book theft. For example, this comment from Lexi Beach, owner of the Astoria bookshop in Queens:

"The conclusion we've come to is that ...

Full Story

Golden Globe nominees based on books.

Dec 15 2017: Signature (a Random House website) looks at the many 2018 Golden Globes nominees based on books:

It is officially that time of the year - awards season is upon us. As usual, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association has kicked things off with the announcement of the ...

Full Story

Merriam-Webster names "feminism" its word of the year.

Dec 12 2017: Merriam-Webster's Word of the Year for 2017 is feminism. The word was a top lookup throughout the year, with several spikes that corresponded to various news reports and events.

Full Story

Novelist and short story writer John Boyne claims "women are better novelists than men".

Dec 12 2017: In an opinion piece in the Irish Times, John Boyne writes:

So I’m going to make a claim now that will probably get me kicked out of the Fraternity of Underappreciated Male Authors (FUMA) and blacklisted from the annual Christmas football game. Here goes:

I think ...

Full Story

Journalist Simeon Booker dies aged 99

Dec 12 2017: The great Simeon Booker, one of the bravest journalists of our time, faced dangers far worse than a petulant president’s social media feed. Booker refused to be cowed--and ultimately helped change the nation. His life’s work should be a lesson to us all about the power ...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.