Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 29 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

All The Birds Singing by Evie Wyld wins Miles Franklin Literary Award, Australia's most prestigious book prize.

Jun 27 2014: All the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld has won the $60,000 Miles Franklin Literary Award, Australia's most prestigious book prize, honoring a novel "of the highest literary merit and which must present Australian life in any of its phases." The book was published in the U....

    Full Story

    FAA reconfirms ban on Amazon drones & other "model aircraft" from delivering commercial packages

    Jun 26 2014: After a federal judge ruled in March that the Federal Aviation Administration had acted illegally in banning the use of commercial drones to deliver packages because it had not first taken public input, the FAA has reconfirmed its ruling that Amazon cannot use drones to...

      Full Story

      B&N to break into 2 public companies: Retail stores and College bookstores + Nook

      Jun 25 2014: The Barnes & Noble board of directors has given its approval to separate B&N into two public companies with one holding the retail trade stores and the other holding its Nook operations plus the college bookstores. The hope is to complete the transactions by the first ...

        Full Story

        Hachette to buy Perseus Books Group - plans to keep publishing imprints but immediately sell on distribution to Ingram

        Jun 24 2014: The owners of the Perseus Books Group have agreed to a sale of the company, in an unusual three-way transaction. All things being equal, Hachette Book Group is purchasing PBG, and then in turn will sell to Ingram Content Group Perseus's extensive distribution companies....

          Full Story

          Hachette employee speaks off the record about Amazon's "inventive" tactics to charge for standard services

          Jun 23 2014: The New York Times spoke with an unnamed employee at Hachette who speaking off the record about Amazon's dispute with Hachette says that Amazon has been demanding payments for a range of services, including the pre-order button, personalized recommendations and a ...

            Full Story

            Sir Salman Rushdie awarded Pen Pinter prize

            Jun 20 2014: Sir Salman Rushdie has been named the recipient of this year's Pen Pinter prize. The Pen Pinter was established in 2009 in memory of British writer Harold Pinter, by writers' charity English Pen. Sir Salman said it was "very moving" to win an award named after his "...

              Full Story

              Author of English classroom classic, "Flowers for Algernon" dies aged 86

              Jun 18 2014: Daniel Keyes, the author of “Flowers for Algernon,” the story of a man with an I.Q. of 68 who temporarily becomes a genius after surgery — a book that inspired the film “Charly,” starring Cliff Robertson — died on Sunday at his home in South Florida. He was 86.

                Full Story

                BookCon to get its own two day show next year. BEA to be cut to 2.5 days

                Jun 16 2014: Next year's BookExpo America - the USA's leading publishing trade event - will take a different format to this year's event (which in turn was different to previous years). Next year BEA will run for two and a half days, opening on Wednesday afternoon, closing Friday. ...

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
                    by Bryn Greenwood

                    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.