Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 28 of 249

View abbreviated list of news stories

Kickstarter hits $100m mark on publishing projects

Aug 22 2016: Kickstarter, the crowdfunding venture that allows individuals to donate money to support a variety of projects, marked a milestone last week, recording more than $100 million in pledges to general-publishing projects since it launched in 2009.

Full Story

Publishers express frustration at sacking of B&N's CEO

Aug 22 2016: Publishers have been expressing their frustration in the wake of the sudden and unexpected dismissal of Barnes & Noble CEO Ron Boire last week, just a year after he took over as head of the largest bricks-and-mortar bookstore chain in the USA. Boire, formerly head of ...

Full Story

New editor for Sunday Book Review

Aug 18 2016: Pamela Paul, editor of the New York Times Sunday Book Review, has been given an expanded role at the paper. She will now oversee all book coverage for the Times, including the daily Books section, book news, and publishing industry news.

Full Story

Three new Harry Potter books publishing as ebooks on September 6.

Aug 18 2016: In addition to the "Harry Potter and the Cursed Child" London play, also available as a published script, and the upcoming "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" movie, Harry Potter fans now have three new publications to look forward to in 2016 - all publishing ...

Full Story

Author Thomas Steinbeck dies aged 72

Aug 16 2016: Thomas Steinbeck, the eldest son of the novelist John Steinbeck and, later in life, a fiction writer who fought bitterly in a family dispute over his father’s estate, died on Thursday at his home in Santa Barbara, Calif. He was 72.

Full Story

US bookstore sales record 10th month of continuous year on year growth

Aug 15 2016: June USA bookstore sales rose 5%, to $770 million, compared to June 2015, according to preliminary estimates from the Census Bureau. This is the 10th month in a row that bookstore sales have increased.

Full Story

Top 12 highest paid authors

Aug 04 2016: According to Forbes Magazine, the world's top 12 highest-paid authors earned a combined $269 million over the last 12 months.

Forbes arrives at its estimates by looking at print, e-book and audiobook sales from Nielsen BookScan, while attempting to factor in TV and ...

Full Story

Harry Potter fever builds

Jul 27 2016: Barnes & Noble reports that Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts I & II is the company's most pre-ordered book since Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows in 2007. Stores across the country are currently preparing to host Countdown to Midnight Magic parties beginning ...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.