Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 22 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Penguin Random House's #GiveaBook program exceeds target of 25,000 books. Now extended through to Nov 29

Dec 22 2014: Penguin Random House has expanded its GiveaBook program after exceeding its original goal of donating 25,000 to Save the Children in just three weeks. The publisher has now pledged to donate another 10,000 books for additional posts and tweets containing the #GiveaBook ...

    Full Story

    BookBrowse's 2014 Award Winners

    Dec 06 2014: The winners of the 2014 BookBrowse Awards are:
    Best Fiction: All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
    Best Debut: A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman
    Best Nonfiction: In The Kingdom of Ice by Hampton Sides
    Best YA: I'll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

    ...

      Full Story

      Kent Haruf dies aged 71

      Dec 01 2014: Novelist Kent Haruf has died aged 71. The new issue of Granta has an autobiographical essay by Haruf, and his last novel Our Souls at Night is due to be published next year.

      His 1999 novel, Plainsong, won the Mountains & Plains Booksellers Award and was a finalist ...

        Full Story

        PD James dies aged 94

        Nov 27 2014: Crime novelist PD James has died aged 94. Her agent said she died "peacefully at her home in Oxford" on Thursday morning.

        James penned more than 20 books, The author's books, many featuring sleuth Adam Dalgliesh, sold millions of books around the world, with various ...

          Full Story

          S&S Expands e-book Availability to Libraries

          Nov 21 2014: Effective immediately, Simon & Schuster is making its e-books available to libraries across the country and no longer requiring libraries to participate in the "Buy It Now" program, under which patrons can purchase copies of S&S e-books through the library's online ...

            Full Story

            2014 National Book Awards Presented

            Nov 20 2014: The National Book Foundation has announced the 2014 winners of the National Book Awards:

            Fiction: Phil Klay, Redeployment (The Penguin Press/ Penguin Group (USA))

            Non-Fiction: Evan Osnos, Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China (Farrar...

              Full Story

              Alice Lee, trail blazing female lawyer and sister of Harper Lee dies aged 103

              Nov 19 2014: Alice Lee, sister of, and gatekeeper for her sister Harper Lee (aged 88), died Monday. She was 103. According to AL.com Lee "was also celebrated as a trailblazer, one of the few women who practiced law in Alabama before World War II, and a church leader.... In 2012, at ...

                Full Story

                Amazon and Hachette Book Group reach agreement

                Nov 13 2014: Hachette Book Group and Amazon jointly announced today that "the companies have reached a new, multi-year agreement for ebook and print sales in the US." Hachette CEO Michael Pietsch said, "This is great news for writers. The new agreement will benefit Hachette ...

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
                    by Bryn Greenwood

                    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.