Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 22 of 249

View abbreviated list of news stories

Caravan to Yale: The stolen child who became a star poet

Mar 05 2017: Ali Cobby Eckermann, an Aboriginal poet, forcibly taken from her mother when she was a young child, is one of eight writers to win a $162,000 Windham-Campbell prize from Yale University. The committee commended her for confronting "the violent history of Australia's ...

Full Story

Obamas pen deal with Penguin Random House

Mar 01 2017: Penguin Random House has acquired the rights for two books, to be written by former US President Barack Obama and his wife Michelle respectively. Details of the deal have not been announced but it is rumored that the deal cost Random House between $30-$60 million.

...

Full Story

Plenty of book-related nominations at this year's Oscars, but few winners

Feb 27 2017: Shelf Awareness reports that five of the nine best picture nominees at this year's Academy Awards were book related and there were plentiful book related nominations in other categories. But few award winners, particularly compared with recent years.

The winners were...

Full Story

Author Frank Delaney dies aged 74

Feb 24 2017: Irish-born author Frank Delaney, 74, died on February 21 after a stroke. His books include the novel Ireland, the nonfiction book Simple Courage, and an ongoing podcast on James Joyce's Ulysses. A new novel is forthcoming from Putnam.

Full Story

Louise Penny receives Order of Canada

Feb 21 2017: Author Louise Penny has been appointed to the Order of Canada which is one of the country's highest civilian honors, recognizing "outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation."

Full Story

Milo Yiannopoulos book deal cancelled after outrage over child abuse comments

Feb 20 2017: Simon & Schuster has cancelled the publication of Milo Yiannopoulos’ book, and his fellow Breitbart employees have reportedly threatened to quit if he is not fired.

Simon & Schuster’s decision follows outrage over a recording that appeared to show Yiannopoulos ...

Full Story

Philip Pullman to write follow-up to His Dark Materials

Feb 15 2017: Author Philip Pullman has announced a follow-up to his best-selling His Dark Materials series, published 17 years ago. The first novel in the new trilogy, called The Book of Dust, will come out in October.

Full Story

Waterstones, leading UK bookstore chain, comes "back from the dead"

Feb 06 2017: The Guardian reports on how Waterstones, the UK's leading chain of bookstores "came back from the dead... with a mixture of tough love and an unshakeable belief in the power of the physical book."

A radical move was to no longer do business through sales reps and no...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.