Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 20 of 224

View abbreviated list of news stories

American Booksellers discuss concerns over minimum wage increases - philosophically in favor but logistically challenging

Feb 12 2015: At the American Booksellers Association this week members discussed a range of topics including the rise in the minimum wage in may parts of the US. Steve Bercu, owner of Bookpeople in Austin, Tex., and the president of the ABA, pointed out that the majority of ...

    Full Story

    Following the success of last year's California Bookstore Day, the first national Independent Bookstore Day will happen on May 2!

    Feb 10 2015: Last year's California Bookstore Day was such a rousing success that the idea is going national this year, on May 2.

    The mission, according to Samantha Schoech, who is producing both Independent Bookstore Day and California Bookstore Day, is not just to sell the 16 ...

      Full Story

      Historian Martin Gilbert, official biography of Winston Churchill, dies

      Feb 04 2015: Sir Martin Gilbert, the distinguished historian of more than 80 history books and atlases, and official biographer of Winston Churchill, has died aged 78 after a long illness.

        Full Story

        Amazon maybe buying some RadioShack stores in order to showcase products locally #amazon

        Feb 03 2015: Sources say that Amazon is in discussion with bankrupt RadioShack about buying some of its stores in the USA with the intent that these would serve as showcases for Amazon's products, as well as potential pickup and drop-off centers for online customers.

          Full Story

          Harper Lee to publish sequel to To Kill a Mockingbird

          Feb 03 2015: An unpublished novel by Harper Lee is to finally see the light of day, 60 years after the US author put it aside to write To Kill a Mockingbird.

          Go Set a Watchman, which features the character of Scout Finch as an adult, will be released on 14 July.

          Lee wrote it ...

            Full Story

            Books-A-Million Majority Owners Offer to Buy Whole Company

            Feb 02 2015: Books-A-Million executive chairman Clyde B. Anderson and his family, who directly and in trusts own 58.2% of the company's outstanding common stock, have made an offer to buy the rest of the company for $2.75 a share--or about $17.3 million. Their offer values the ...

              Full Story

              Fire destroys millions of books at major Russian state library

              Feb 02 2015: A major fire that threatened to consume one of Russia's most important libraries was finally put out late Saturday, but scholars are only beginning to assess the damage from the flames, smoke and water. The fire broke out at the Institute of Scientific Information on ...

                Full Story

                Newbery & Caldecott Awards announced

                Feb 02 2015: The American Library Association announced their Youth Media Awards today. The Newbery medal went to The Crossover, a novel in verse by Kwame Alexander (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), and the Caldecott was awarded to The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend, ...

                  Full Story

                  One-Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
                    Here I Am
                    by Jonathan Safran Foer
                    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
                  • Book Jacket: Harmony
                    Harmony
                    by Carolyn Parkhurst
                    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
                  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
                    Commonwealth
                    by Ann Patchett
                    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Tea Planter's Wife
                    by Dinah Jefferies

                    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    Darling Days
                    by iO Tillett Wright

                    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Blood at the Root

                  Blood at the Root

                  "A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
                  - PW Starred Review

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  D C Y C Before T A H

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.