Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 19 of 249

View abbreviated list of news stories

Amazon allows third-party book re-sellers to "win" buy buttons on book pages

May 09 2017: A new program from Amazon is drawing a range of reactions from those across the publishing industry, from fear to downright anger. The e-tailer has started allowing third-party book re-sellers to "win" buy buttons on book pages. The program, publishers, agents, and ...

Full Story

Granta announces its once in a decade Best Young American Novelists list

Apr 29 2017: Once every 10 years Granta issues a special issue focused on new American fiction, "showcasing the young novelists deemed to be the best of their generation--writers of remarkable achievement and promise, still in their twenties and thirties."

It's Best of Young ...

Full Story

Robert Pirsig, author of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, dies aged 88

Apr 25 2017: Robert M. Pirsig, author of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: An Inquiry into Values, died yesterday at age 88.

First published in 1974 by William Morrow, the book was a spectacularly popular philosophy book that was loosely autobiographical, tracing a ...

Full Story

First John Grisham bookstore tour for 25 years

Apr 19 2017: Bestselling author John Grisham will celebrate the publication of his 30th novel, Camino Island ( June 6), with his first bookstore tour in 25 years. On his website, Grisham shares the schedule and event guidelines for the tour, which will feature a book signing and ...

Full Story

Mark your calendars for Independent Bookstore Day!

Apr 18 2017: Independent Bookstore Day is a one-day national party that takes place at indie bookstores across the USA on the last Saturday in April. Every store is unique and independent, and every party is different. But in addition to authors, live music, cupcakes, scavenger ...

Full Story

US bookstore sales down 3% year on year in February

Apr 18 2017: February bookstore sales fell 3%, to $744 million, compared to February 2016, according to preliminary estimates from the Census Bureau. This is the third monthly drop in a row. For the first two months of the year, bookstore sales have fallen 3.6%, to $2.3 billion, ...

Full Story

Colson Whitehead wins Pulitzer

Apr 10 2017: Colson Whitehead has won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for The Underground Railroad. The General Nonfiction prize went to Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City by Matthew Desmond.

Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy by ...

Full Story

Richard Bolles, author of "What Color is Your Parachute" dies aged 90

Apr 03 2017: Richard N. Bolles, a former Harvard physics major, Episcopal minister and career counselor whose own twisting vocational path led to his writing "What Color Is Your Parachute?" — the most popular job-hunter's manual of the 1970s and beyond — died on Friday in San Ramon,...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.