Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 14 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Four productions based on books win Tony Awards

Jun 08 2015: Four plays based on books won awards at yesterday's Tony Awards:

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Simon Stephens (book by Mark Haddon) won 5 Awards including Best Play.

Fun Home (music by Jeanine Tesori, lyrics by Lisa Kron), was nominated 12 ...

    Full Story

    Jacqueline Woodson named Young People's Poet Laureate

    Jun 04 2015: Jacqueline Woodson has been named the Young People's Poet Laureate by the Poetry Foundation. Awarded every two years, the $25,000 laureate title is given to a living writer in recognition of a career devoted to writing exceptional poetry for young readers. The laureate ...

      Full Story

      Mathematician John F. Nash Jr, and his wife Alicia die in car crash

      May 24 2015: Nobel Prize-winning mathematician John F. Nash Jr., known to many due to Sylvia Nasar's bestselling book, A Beautiful Mind, and the subsequent film of the same name, was killed on Saturday with his wife, Alicia, in a car crash. He was 86, she was 82. They were taking a ...

        Full Story

        Man Booker International prize 2015 goes to László Krasznahorkai

        May 19 2015: The Hungarian author László Krasznahorkai (pronounced Laas-lo Krasna-hor-kai) has won the Man Booker International prize for his “achievement in fiction on the world stage”. Chair of judges Marina Warner, the academic and writer, compared Krasznahorkai’s work to Kafka –...

          Full Story

          Portrait believed to be of Shakespeare found in old botany book

          May 19 2015: Botanist and historian Mark Griffiths believes he has cracked an "ingenious cipher" to identify Shakespeare in an engraving in a 16th-Century botany book. Griffiths made his discovery when he was researching the biography of pioneering botanist John Gerard (1545-1612), ...

            Full Story

            Little Free Library celebrates 3rd anniversary

            May 13 2015: In just three years the Little Free Library movement has grown from zero to 25,000 locations in 72 countries. More than 40 million books have changed hands through this network due to the efforts of volunteer stewards who install, curate and sustain the book exchanges. ...

              Full Story

              Children's book illustrator Marcia Brown dies

              May 07 2015: Children's book illustrator Marcia Brown died on April 28 at her home in Laguna Hills, Calif. She was 96.

              One of the country’s most lauded picture-book artists, Ms. Brown illustrated dozens of titles and won the Caldecott Medal three times. For some books, she also ...

                Full Story

                Two inaugural events for indie bookstores - in USA and Canada

                May 04 2015: Saturday saw two inaugural events for Indie bookstores, one in the USA, the other in Canada. In the USA, Independent Bookstore Day took off with a bang with about 400 indie bookstores across the country taking part (for background to this event see previous news stories...

                  Full Story

                  Member Benefits

                  Join Now!

                  Check the advantages!
                  Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

                    •  
                    • FREE
                    • MEMBER
                    • Range of media reviews for each book
                    • Excerpts of all featured books
                    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
                    • Browse by genre
                    • Book club discussions
                    • Book club advice and reading guides
                    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
                    •  
                    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
                    •  
                    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
                    •  
                    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
                    •  
                    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
                    •  
                    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
                    •  

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
                    The Bones of Grace
                    by Tahmima Anam
                    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
                  • Book Jacket
                    Find Me Unafraid
                    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
                    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    Underground Airlines
                    by Ben Winters

                    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
                    by Bryn Greenwood

                    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.