Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 12 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Man Booker Longlist Announced

Jul 29 2015: The longlist, or ‘Man Booker Dozen’, for the £50,000 Man Booker Prize is announced and includes A Brief History of Seven Killings, A Spool of Blue Thread and A Little Life, among others.

This year’s longlist of 13 books was selected by a panel of five judges chaired...

    Full Story

    BookBrowse Publishes White Paper: Book Clubs in The USA

    Jul 28 2015: Based on recent research, in-depth interviews and extensive experience, BookBrowse's just published white paper provides an intriguing and insightful look at Book Clubs.

    Download it for free at bookbrowse.com/wp

    Find out:

    • The two life stages when book...

      Full Story

      Author and NPR reporter Alan Cheuse in coma after serious car accident

      Jul 22 2015: As reported by Shelf Awareness, author and NPR book reviewer Alan Cheuse remains in a coma after having been seriously injured in a car accident as he was driving from the annual conference of the Community of Writers at Squaw Valley to Santa Cruz, Calif., last week. He...

        Full Story

        Go Set a Watchman sells 1.1 million copies in North America in first week

        Jul 21 2015: Harper Lee's Go Set a Watchman has sold 1.1 million digital and physical copies in North America in its first week. HarperCollins says that Watchman is now the fastest-selling book in its history and has already reprinted multiple times so there are now 3.3 million ...

          Full Story

          US novelist E.L. Doctorow dies at 84

          Jul 21 2015: E.L. Doctorow, critically acclaimed author of the novels Ragtime and Billy Bathgate, has died in a New York hospital of complications from lung cancer. He was 84. In a 50-year career, Doctorow published 10 novels, a stage drama, two books of short fiction and ...

            Full Story

            U.S. Dept of Justice called on to investigate Amazon's business practices

            Jul 13 2015: In an unprecedented joint action, U.S. booksellers, authors, and literary agents called on the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) to investigate the business practices of Amazon.com. The action comes as similar efforts are underway in the European Union.

            In a letter ...

              Full Story

              First chapter of Harper Lee's "Go Set a Watchman" now available in 3 newspapers

              Jul 10 2015: The first chapter of Harper Lee's "Go Set a Watchman" is now available to read in the Wall Street Journal (US), Guardian (UK) and Sydney Morning Herald (Aus). All three also have a recording of Reese Witherspoon reading the first chapter.

              The Wall Street Journal and...

                Full Story

                Poet Tate dies aged 71

                Jul 10 2015: Pulitzer Prize winning poet and long time University of Massachusetts professor James Tate died Wednesday aged 71.

                A distinguished professor of English at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, where he had taught since 1971, Mr. Tate was awarded the Pulitzer Prize...

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
                    by Bryn Greenwood

                    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.