Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 12 of 224

View abbreviated list of news stories

Man Booker Shortlist Announced

Sep 15 2015: Marlon James, Tom McCarthy, Chigozie Obioma, Sunjeev Sahota, Anne Tyler and Hanya Yanagihara are the shortlisted authors for the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

Their books are:

Marlon James (Jamaica), A Brief History of Seven Killings (Riverhead Books (USA))

...

    Full Story

    Henrietta Lacks biographer Rebecca Skloot responds to US parent over 'porn' allegation

    Sep 09 2015: Writer Rebecca Skloot has hit back at a Tennessee parent who is trying to have her acclaimed biography of Henrietta Lacks removed from local schools, saying the complainant is confusing “gynaecology with pornography”.

      Full Story

      Authors' fundraising page for Syrian refugee crisis raises $300,000 in one day

      Sep 04 2015: Yesterday, Patrick Ness launched a fundraising page for Save the Children, with the money going "to help with the Syrian refugee crisis because I can no longer stand to just tweet about it." He offered to match GBP100,000 in donations (about US$150,000). Within hours, ...

        Full Story

        National Humanities Medal award winners

        Sep 04 2015: The White House today announced the distinguished recipients of the 2014 National Humanities Medal. The awardees include historians, writers, a philosopher, scholar, preservationist, food activist and an education course. President Barack Obama will confer the medal in ...

          Full Story

          Don DeLillo awarded National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters

          Sep 03 2015: The 2015 National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters has been awarded to Don DeLillo for "a diverse body of work that examines the mores of contemporary modern American culture and brilliantly embeds the rhythms of everyday speech ...

            Full Story

            Survey shows that millennials are more irked by spelling errors than older groups

            Sep 01 2015: A survey by Dictionary.com appears to show that, while older generations might consider themselves the last bastions of correct spelling and grammar, almost three quarters of 18-34 year olds are irked by grammar and spelling slips on social media - higher than any other...

              Full Story

              Neurologist and author Oliver Sacks has died aged 82

              Aug 30 2015: British neurologist and author Oliver Sacks has died at the age of 82 in New York.

              Dr Sacks earned a medical degree at Queen's College, Oxford University, and later began working as a consulting neurologist for Beth Abraham Hospital, in the Bronx, New York, in 1966....

                Full Story

                Drama at this year's Hugo Awards as factions that played dirty to swing the vote to white male authors get voted down.

                Aug 24 2015: Wired reports on this year's Hugo Awards, the highest honors in science fiction and fantasy writing, which were announced at the 73rd World Science Fiction Convention in Spokane, Washington.

                The awards took on an unusual level of drama this year:
                "... But in ...

                  Full Story

                  One-Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
                    Here I Am
                    by Jonathan Safran Foer
                    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
                  • Book Jacket: Harmony
                    Harmony
                    by Carolyn Parkhurst
                    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
                  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
                    Commonwealth
                    by Ann Patchett
                    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Tea Planter's Wife
                    by Dinah Jefferies

                    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    Darling Days
                    by iO Tillett Wright

                    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Blood at the Root

                  Blood at the Root

                  "A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
                  - PW Starred Review

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  D C Y C Before T A H

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.