Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 9 of 249

View abbreviated list of news stories

Cynan Jones wins BBC National Short Story Award

Oct 04 2017: Welsh writer Cynan Jones has won the £15,000 BBC National Short Story Award with BookTrust for his "tenderly devastating exploration of the body".

The novelist and scriptwriter beat four other nominated writers including three of Granta's Best of Young British ...

Full Story

European Union hits Amazon with "huge bill over back taxes"

Oct 04 2017: Amazon must pay €250m in back taxes after the European Commission judged the company had enjoyed tax benefits in Luxembourg which were illegal under EU state aid rules.

The EC member in charge of competition, Margarethe Vestager, said in a press conference this ...

Full Story

'In 2017, censorship comes from an outraged public'

Oct 01 2017: The Guardian looks at the worrying trend of popular pressure forcing children's books off shelves, particularly in the USA.

"In 2017, we can read what we like but there is a different kind of censorship in operation, not coming from the state but from an outraged ...

Full Story

Dan Brown talks about his new book, and offers a tour of his house

Oct 01 2017: Dan Brown takes Sarah Lyall on a tour of his house and talks about his eighth book (and fifth starring Robert Langdon), Origin, publishing Oct 3; and in particular why he includes chunks of expository information into the narrative of all his books. In the case of ...

Full Story

The Big Titles U.S. Agencies Will be Selling at the Frankfurt Book Fair

Oct 01 2017: Publishers Weekly looks at the big titles that American agents will be talking up in the rights center at the upcoming Frankfurt Book Fair including the debut novel from Sopranos' actor Michael Imperioli, a memoir by filmaker David Lynch, an update on Cinderella, and a ...

Full Story

Why UK and US book jackets are often so different?

Oct 01 2017: The Guardian looks at the question that puzzles many readers: Why are books published with different covers in different countries, even those that share the same language such as the UK and USA?

According to jacket designer, Stuart Bache: "The gulf between British ...

Full Story

Librarian rejects Melania Trump's book donation

Sep 29 2017: A school librarian has declared that she would not like a selection of Dr Seuss classics here, there or anywhere, after refusing books donated by Melania Trump.

Trump had sent a collection of ten Seuss books, including The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham, to ...

Full Story

Kit Reed (1932-2017)

Sep 27 2017: Kit Reed, "a prolific author with an astonishing range who published work consistently for almost 60 years, writing outstanding novels and stories in various genres for children, teens and adults," died September 24 aged 85.

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.