Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 8 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

2015 National Book Awards Announced

Nov 19 2015: The National Book Foundation has announced the 2015 winners of the National Book Awards:

Fiction: Adam Johnson, Fortune Smiles: Stories (Random House (USA))

Non-Fiction: Ta-Nehisi Coates, Between the World and Me (Spiegel & Grau / Penguin Random House)

Poetry...

    Full Story

    Shareholders encouraged to vote in favor of plan to privatize Books-A-Million.

    Nov 18 2015: Institutional Shareholder Services, the independent proxy advisory firm, has recommended that stockholders of Books-A-Million vote in favor of the plan for the Anderson family to buy BAM and take it private.

      Full Story

      Costa Book Awards nominees announced

      Nov 18 2015: The nominees for the Costa Book Awards have been announced. The Costa Awards (known as the Whitbread Awards until 2006) are one of the UK's most prestigious and literary prizes recognizing some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK ...

        Full Story

        Mark your calendar for Indies First Day on Sat Nov 28

        Nov 18 2015: Mark your calendar for Indies First Day - a national campaign of activities and events in support of independent bookstores, first envisioned by author Sherman Alexie in 2013. It kicks off each November, on Small Business Saturday (November 28, 2015), when independent ...

          Full Story

          Take Your Child to a Bookstore Day - Saturday Dec 5

          Nov 16 2015: Saturday, December 5 is the sixth annual Take Your Child to a Bookstore Day. This year 700 bookstores will participate across all 50 US, plus a handful elsewhere. Novelist Jenny Milchman was inspired to start the event by taking her own children to the bookstore and ...

            Full Story

            Amazon reviews hijacked by conspiracy theorists and causes

            Nov 02 2015: The Seattle Times reports that organized groups are using the Amazon review system to push political and social agendas often only tangentially related to the products being sold. But Amazon appears to have no desire to deal with these reviews saying they are "authentic...

              Full Story

              Apple Petitions Supreme Court to Overturn E-books Decision

              Oct 30 2015: As expected, Apple on Wednesday officially asked the Supreme Court to overturn an appeals court decision affirming Judge Denise Cote’s 2013 verdict finding the company liable for its role in a conspiracy to fix e-books prices. The government now has 30 days to file a ...

                Full Story

                New J.K. Rowling story, Harry Potter and The Cursed Child, to be the first to be presented on stage.

                Oct 26 2015: The Pottermore website announced Friday that there is to be an eighth story in the Harry Potter series - presented not as a book but as a play. The story will pick up after Harry says goodbye to his eldest children, James Sirius and Albus Severus, at Platform Nine and ...

                  Full Story

                  Member Benefits

                  Join Now!

                  Check the advantages!
                  Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

                    •  
                    • FREE
                    • MEMBER
                    • Range of media reviews for each book
                    • Excerpts of all featured books
                    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
                    • Browse by genre
                    • Book club discussions
                    • Book club advice and reading guides
                    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
                    •  
                    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
                    •  
                    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
                    •  
                    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
                    •  
                    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
                    •  
                    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
                    •  

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
                    The Bones of Grace
                    by Tahmima Anam
                    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.