Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 8 of 235

View abbreviated list of news stories

Sebastian Barry wins Costa Book of the Year with "Days Without End"

Feb 01 2017: Sebastian Barry's Days Without End has won the overall Costa Award: Book of The Year. The judges called it, "A miracle of a book - both epic and intimate - that manages to create spaces for love and safety in the noise and chaos of history." It's Barry's second Costa ...

Full Story

New York Times eliminating a number of bestseller lists

Jan 27 2017: Publishers reacted with a mixture of dismay, confusion and surprise at the announcement from the New York Times that it will eliminate a number of its print and online bestseller lists, effective February 5.

Although it is still unclear exactly which lists have been ...

Full Story

Four movies based on books nominated for best picture Oscar

Jan 25 2017: Four of the nine best picture nominations for this year's Academy Awards, which will be presented February 26, are based on books:

  • Lion, adapted from Saroo Brierley's memoir A Long Way Home
  • Arrival, based on Ted Chiang's short story, "Story of Your Life"
  • ...

Full Story

Ebook sales fall 16% year on year

Jan 24 2017: Unit sales of ebooks were down 16% in 2016 compared to 2015 according to recently released figures from Nielsen. Possible contributing factors include rising prices since (the typical price for an ebook from one of the "big 5" publishers is now about $8 per book) and ...

Full Story

Kelly Barnhill wins Newbery

Jan 23 2017: The American Library Association (ALA) today announced their annual awards for the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults - including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards - at its Midwinter Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia.

...

Full Story

Author sued for publishing unauthorized children's versions of classic works

Jan 20 2017: Fredrik Colting, who was sued by J. D. Salinger’s estate several years ago for publishing an unauthorized sequel to "The Catcher in the Rye," is now being sued by four literary estates, representing Arthur C. Clarke, Jack Kerouac, Truman Capote and Ernest Hemingway. In ...

Full Story

Every book Barack Obama has recommended during his presidency

Jan 18 2017: Entertainment Weekly have collated a list of all the books Barack Obama has publicly recommended these past eight years.

Full Story

President Obama talks about what books mean to him

Jan 16 2017: In a wide ranging interview with Michiko Kakutani, the chief book critic for The New York Times, Barack Obama talks about books and what they mean to him.

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.