Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 8 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Amazon may open about a dozen new stores

Feb 03 2016: An offhand comment yesterday by the CEO of a real estate investment trust that owns and manages 120 shopping malls around the country, threw the book business into a frenzy and caused B&N's share price to drop. In a conference call with investors Sandeep Mathrani, CEO ...

    Full Story

    New Beatrix Potter book discovered

    Jan 26 2016: A new story written by Beatrix Potter more than 100 years ago, is to be published for the first time.

    The Tale of Kitty-in-Boots was rediscovered by publisher Jo Hanks after she found a reference to it in an out-of-print Potter biography. Three manuscripts were ...

      Full Story

      2015 Costa Awards announced

      Jan 26 2016: The 2015 Costa award winners were announced today. The winners are:

      Costa Book of The Year: The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge
      Costa First Novel Award: The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley
      Costa Novel Award: A God In Ruins by Kate Atkinson
      Biography Award: Invention ...

        Full Story

        Report shows impact of Amazon on local USA communities

        Jan 26 2016: One of the most well-attended and discussed sessions at yesterday's publishing industry Winter Institute featured the release of a new Civic Economics-ABA study called The Fiscal and Land Use Impacts of Online Retail, which aims to demonstrate the effects of the growth ...

          Full Story

          Five Employees of Hong Kong Publishing Companies Missing

          Jan 13 2016: A Hong Kong publishing house has allegedly suspended its plans to print a book critical of Chinese president Xi Jinping, fearing retribution from mainland authorities after 5 employees of a different publishing house, Mighty Current, who have disappeared - four in ...

            Full Story

            Penguin Random House sells Author Solutions

            Jan 06 2016: Penguin Random House has sold its self-publishing division Author Solutions to an affiliate of Najafi Companies, an international private investment firm that in 2011 had emerged as a potential buyer of Borders Group before withdrawing its bid and from 2008 to 2013, ...

              Full Story

              Harper Lee, E.L. James, Paula Hawkins and Anthony Doerr top 2015 print fiction bestseller list.

              Jan 04 2016: Harper Lee (Go Set a Watchman), E.L James (Grey), Paula Hawkins (The Girl on the Train) and Anthony Doerr (All The Light We Cannot See) topped the print adult fiction bestseller list in 2015 with sales of over one million copies each.

              Click below for the full top 20 ...

                Full Story

                Sales of print books up for second year in a row

                Jan 04 2016: Unit sales of print books from outlets that report to Nielsen BookScan increased 2.8% in 2015 over 2014, marking the second consecutive year that print units posted annual gains.

                The retail and club channel had a particularly good year in 2015, with sales up 5.4% over...

                  Full Story

                  One-Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
                    A Gentleman in Moscow
                    by Amor Towles
                    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
                  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
                    I Contain Multitudes
                    by Ed Yong
                    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
                  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
                    Night of the Animals
                    by Bill Broun
                    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Tea Planter's Wife
                    by Dinah Jefferies

                    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Blood at the Root

                  Blood at the Root

                  "A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
                  - PW Starred Review

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  D C Y C Before T A H

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.