Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 8 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Penguin Random House sells Author Solutions

Jan 06 2016: Penguin Random House has sold its self-publishing division Author Solutions to an affiliate of Najafi Companies, an international private investment firm that in 2011 had emerged as a potential buyer of Borders Group before withdrawing its bid and from 2008 to 2013, ...

    Full Story

    Harper Lee, E.L. James, Paula Hawkins and Anthony Doerr top 2015 print fiction bestseller list.

    Jan 04 2016: Harper Lee (Go Set a Watchman), E.L James (Grey), Paula Hawkins (The Girl on the Train) and Anthony Doerr (All The Light We Cannot See) topped the print adult fiction bestseller list in 2015 with sales of over one million copies each.

    Click below for the full top 20 ...

      Full Story

      Sales of print books up for second year in a row

      Jan 04 2016: Unit sales of print books from outlets that report to Nielsen BookScan increased 2.8% in 2015 over 2014, marking the second consecutive year that print units posted annual gains.

      The retail and club channel had a particularly good year in 2015, with sales up 5.4% over...

        Full Story

        Sales of print books grow for second year in a row

        Dec 23 2015: The book business looks ready to mark a second consecutive year of unit growth in print books. Unit sales of print books were up 2.8% through the week ended December 20, 2015 compared to the same period in 2014 at outlets that report to Nielsen BookScan with just under ...

          Full Story

          American Booksellers Association and others support Apple at Supreme Court

          Dec 03 2015: Shelf Awareness reports that The American Booksellers Association, Barnes & Noble, Authors United and the Authors Guild have filed a friend-of-the-court brief with the Supreme Court asking it to review the district court decision, upheld by the appeals court, against ...

            Full Story

            2015 National Book Awards Announced

            Nov 19 2015: The National Book Foundation has announced the 2015 winners of the National Book Awards:

            Fiction: Adam Johnson, Fortune Smiles: Stories (Random House (USA))

            Non-Fiction: Ta-Nehisi Coates, Between the World and Me (Spiegel & Grau / Penguin Random House)

            Poetry...

              Full Story

              Shareholders encouraged to vote in favor of plan to privatize Books-A-Million.

              Nov 18 2015: Institutional Shareholder Services, the independent proxy advisory firm, has recommended that stockholders of Books-A-Million vote in favor of the plan for the Anderson family to buy BAM and take it private.

                Full Story

                Costa Book Awards nominees announced

                Nov 18 2015: The nominees for the Costa Book Awards have been announced. The Costa Awards (known as the Whitbread Awards until 2006) are one of the UK's most prestigious and literary prizes recognizing some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK ...

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
                    by Bryn Greenwood

                    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.