Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 27 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

First ever Independent Bookstore Day to be May 2, 2015

Aug 15 2014: Inspired by the success of the first California Bookstore Day, all nine USA regional booksellers associations are planning a national Independent Bookstore Day next May 2.

One of the first orders of business is to come up with a logo. The associations are offering $...

    Full Story

    Your local bookstore needs you - US bookstore sales down 8% year on year!

    Aug 14 2014: Bookstore sales in the USA are down 7.9% for the half year to June. The Census Bureau definition of the bookstore category is "establishments primarily engaged in retailing a general line of new books. These establishments may also sell stationery and related items, ...

      Full Story

      Amazon issues strange note to Kindle authors about its dispute with Hachette

      Aug 11 2014: Late Friday night Amazon issued another strange note about its dispute with Hachette, this time in the form of a letter from the "Amazon Books Team" to Kindle Direct Publishing authors with the subject line "Important Kindle request."

      The e-mail asked the authors, ...

        Full Story

        Hachette CEO's reply re Amazon dispute...

        Aug 11 2014: The following is the reply that Hachette Book Group CEO Michael Pietsch is sending to those who are writing to him after Amazon contacted its Kindle authors on Friday, providing Pietsch's personal email address and asking them to write to him...

        Thank you for ...

          Full Story

          Perseus Books Group calls off sale to Hachette and Ingram

          Aug 08 2014: The sale of Perseus Books Group to Hachette Book Group and Ingram Content Group has been called off. "Despite much effort from all three parties, we could not reach agreement on everything necessary to close the transaction," Perseus CEO David Steinberger said in an e-...

            Full Story

            Authors United take full page ad in Sunday NY Times to send open letter to Amazon

            Aug 07 2014: Authors United, a group of nearly 1,000 authors led by Douglas Preston, is running a full-page ad in this Sunday's New York Times, the Bookseller reported. The ad reproduces the open letter that the group began circulating a month ago, protesting Amazon for having "...

              Full Story

              "Where The Heart Is" author Billie Letts dead at 76

              Aug 04 2014: Billie Letts, author of novels including "Where The Heart Is" (an Oprah book club pick) has died in Tulsa aged 76.

                Full Story

                HarperCollins completes purchase of Harlequin for C$455 million

                Aug 01 2014: HarperCollins' parent company News Corp has completed its acquisition of Harlequin Enterprises for C$455 million in cash from Torstar Corporation. Harlequin, best known as a publisher of women's fiction, will now operate as a division of HarperCollins.

                  Full Story

                  Member Benefits

                  Join Now!

                  Check the advantages!
                  Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

                    •  
                    • FREE
                    • MEMBER
                    • Range of media reviews for each book
                    • Excerpts of all featured books
                    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
                    • Browse by genre
                    • Book club discussions
                    • Book club advice and reading guides
                    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
                    •  
                    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
                    •  
                    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
                    •  
                    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
                    •  
                    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
                    •  
                    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
                    •  

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    Underground Airlines
                    by Ben Winters

                    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.