Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 26 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

88% of Millennials read a book in the past year

Sep 11 2014: 88% of Americans aged 16-29 (aka Millennials) have read a book in the past year. This is higher than the 79% of those aged 30+ who have reada book in the past year. Of the Millennials 37% read at least one e-book.

Interestingly, 50% of Millennials visited a ...

    Full Story

    NY Times announce 12 new bestseller lists

    Sep 11 2014: The New York Times Book Review is adding 12 new monthly bestseller charts to its current line up and will also publish some lists in print that were only available online. A newly designed print page will highlight four niche lists on a weekly rotating basis while also ...

      Full Story

      Barnes and Noble quarter sales down 7%

      Sep 09 2014: Barnes and Nobles sales fell 7% in the quarter ending August 2, with a net loss of $28.4 million, compared to a net loss of $87 million in the same period a year ago. The results were in line with Wall Street estimates.

        Full Story

        Forbes highest earners list adds three new authors

        Sep 09 2014: Forbes have published their annual list of highest-earning authors (measured from June 2013 to June 2014). E.L. James, author of the 50 Shades books is still in the list, but not at the top, and some new names have joined - Veronica Roth, Gillian Flynn and John Green. ...

          Full Story

          Man Booker Prize Shortlist Announced

          Sep 09 2014: LONDON — The American authors Joshua Ferris and Karen Joy Fowler are among the six writers selected for the shortlist of the 2014 Man Booker Prize for Fiction, announced on Tuesday. Also on the shortlist are three British writers — Howard Jacobson, Neel Mukherjee and ...

            Full Story

            Japanese publishers push back at new Amazon commission structure which is causing a surge in fees for small publishers

            Aug 29 2014: A group of Japanese publishers have lashed out at Amazon's new book sale rules, after US and European authors accused the online retailer of using strong-arm negotiating tactics.

              Full Story

              Nook Media launch 7" Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK - "first fully featured Android tablet optimized for reading." $179 including $200 of prebundled content.

              Aug 21 2014: Nook Media (a subsidiary of Barnes & Noble and Samsung) have launched a new co-branded 7-inch tablet that combines Samsung technology with Nook content and reading experience. Described by B&N as "the first-ever full-featured Android tablet optimized for reading," the ...

                Full Story

                2014 Hugo Awards announced

                Aug 18 2014: This year's Hugo Awards were announced yesterday at the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention in London (Loncon 3)

                Best Novel: Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie (Orbit US / Orbit UK)

                Best Novella: "Equoid" by Charles Stross (Tor.com, 09-2013)

                Best ...

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
                    by Bryn Greenwood

                    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.