Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 24 of 235

View abbreviated list of news stories

Jeff Bezos rebuts NY Times article with an open letter to employees #amazon

Aug 17 2015: In response to Sunday's New York Times article that describes Amazon as a cruel and back-stabbing environment, Jeff Bezos sent a company wide memo to employees which has been posted on GeekWire:

"...The NYT article prominently features anecdotes describing ...

Full Story

NY Times article reveals dog eat dog culture among Amazon white collar workers

Aug 15 2015: In an extensive article The New York Times looks at how Amazon is conducting an experiment in how far it can push white-collar workers to get them to achieve its ever-expanding ambitions. Written by Jodi Kantor and David Streitfeld the piece paints a picture of a harsh ...

Full Story

Alan Cheuse, novelist, teacher and longtime literary commentator for NPR has died aged 75

Aug 03 2015: Alan Cheuse, the novelist, teacher and longtime literary commentator for NPR, died on Friday from injuries sustained in a car accident in California two weeks ago. He was 75.

"On behalf of the family, we are in deep grief at the loss of our beloved father, husband ...

Full Story

Man Booker Longlist Announced

Jul 29 2015: The longlist, or ‘Man Booker Dozen’, for the £50,000 Man Booker Prize is announced and includes A Brief History of Seven Killings, A Spool of Blue Thread and A Little Life, among others.

This year’s longlist of 13 books was selected by a panel of five judges chaired...

Full Story

BookBrowse Publishes White Paper: Book Clubs in The USA

Jul 28 2015: Based on recent research, in-depth interviews and extensive experience, BookBrowse's just published white paper provides an intriguing and insightful look at Book Clubs.

Download it for free at bookbrowse.com/wp

Find out:

• The two life stages when book...

Full Story

Author and NPR reporter Alan Cheuse in coma after serious car accident

Jul 22 2015: As reported by Shelf Awareness, author and NPR book reviewer Alan Cheuse remains in a coma after having been seriously injured in a car accident as he was driving from the annual conference of the Community of Writers at Squaw Valley to Santa Cruz, Calif., last week. He...

Full Story

Go Set a Watchman sells 1.1 million copies in North America in first week

Jul 21 2015: Harper Lee's Go Set a Watchman has sold 1.1 million digital and physical copies in North America in its first week. HarperCollins says that Watchman is now the fastest-selling book in its history and has already reprinted multiple times so there are now 3.3 million ...

Full Story

US novelist E.L. Doctorow dies at 84

Jul 21 2015: E.L. Doctorow, critically acclaimed author of the novels Ragtime and Billy Bathgate, has died in a New York hospital of complications from lung cancer. He was 84. In a 50-year career, Doctorow published 10 novels, a stage drama, two books of short fiction and ...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.