Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 24 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

National Book Awards Shortlist for Nonfiction Announced

Oct 15 2014: The National Book Awards have announced their nonfiction shortlist consisting of five titles:

Roz Chast, Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant? (Bloomsbury)
Anand Gopal, No Good Men Among the Living: America, the Taliban, and the War through Afghan ...

    Full Story

    National Book Award Fiction Shortlist Announced

    Oct 15 2014: The National Book Awards have announced their fiction shortlist

      Full Story

      National Book Foundation Announces YA Shortlist

      Oct 15 2014: The National Book Award shortlist for this year's Young People's Literature category is:

      Threatened by Eliot Schrefer (Scholastic)
      The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights by Steve Sheinkin (Roaring Brook/Macmillan)
      ...

        Full Story

        Australian Author Wins Man Booker Prize

        Oct 14 2014: Australian author Richard Flanagan has won the £50,000 Man Booker Prize for his wartime novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North. Flanagan's novel is set during the construction of the Thailand-Burma Death Railway in World War Two. This was the first year that the Man ...

          Full Story

          Amazon to open store near Empire State Building in New York, also in San Francisco and Sacramento

          Oct 13 2014: Amazon will soon open small warehouse/stores in Manhattan, San Francisco and Sacramento.

          According to the Wall Street Journal, which reported on the New York store, apparently, the stores will function as "mini warehouse, with limited inventory for same-day delivery...

            Full Story

            Patrick Modiano Wins Nobel Prize in Literature

            Oct 09 2014: Patrick Modiano, the French novelist whose works often explore the traumas of the Nazi occupation of France and hinge on the themes of memory, alienation and the puzzle of identity, won the 2014 Nobel Prize in Literature on Thursday.

              Full Story

              HarperCollins expands into Germany, its first foray into foreign-language publishing

              Oct 08 2014: In its first foray into foreign-language publishing, HarperCollins is creating HarperCollins Germany with a first list of 50 titles. The new operation is an expansion of the Harlequin publishing program in Hamburg, which will provide the resources to support the ...

                Full Story

                More than 450,000 self published books released in 2013 - and that's just in the USA

                Oct 08 2014: Bowker's latest report on the number of self-published titles rose again in 2013, increasing 16.5%, to 458,564. The increase was due to an increase in new print books which rose 28.8% to 302,622 offsetting a decline in self-published e-books which fell 1.6%, to 155,942....

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    Underground Airlines
                    by Ben Winters

                    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.