Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 22 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Kate DiCamillo to be the first National Summer Reading Champion

Jan 14 2015: Kate DiCamillo, the Library of Congress Ambassador for Young People's Literature, and author of more than a dozen books, is to be the first National Summer Reading Champion, working with the nonprofit Collaborative Summer Library Program.

DiCamillo will appear in a ...

    Full Story

    Indie Bookstores Alive & Well! Average indie saw 9% increase in sales in December vs last year, and sales were up 6% year on year.

    Jan 12 2015: With just about all reports in, it's clear that 2014 ended strongly for bricks-and-mortar bookstores. For the first time in several years, book sales at Barnes & Noble and Books-A-Million during the holiday season stabilized. At independents, the news was significantly ...

      Full Story

      Robert Stone, author of Dog Soldiers, dies aged 77

      Jan 12 2015: National Book Award winner for Dog Soldiers Robert Stone, 77, died at home in Key West, FL of COPD on Saturday.

        Full Story

        2014 Costa Award Winners Announced

        Jan 06 2015: The category winners in the 2014 Costa Book Award have been announced, with Ali Smith winning in the Novel category with How to be Both, a Man Booker Prize shortlisted novel about grief and the experience of making and appreciating art.

        The Costa Book Award is now in ...

          Full Story

          Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook Founder, Launches Book Club

          Jan 06 2015: Mark Zuckerberg, the billionaire social network founder has set up the Facebook group "A Year of Book", inviting others to join him in reading a new book every other week. Mr Zuckerberg said the books chosen would emphasise learning about "different cultures, beliefs, ...

            Full Story

            Barnes & Noble buys back stake in Nook from Pearson

            Jan 02 2015: Barnes & Noble has agreed to buy back Pearson’s stake in the booksellers’s struggling e-book business, Nook Media, for nearly $28 million. The company said that it would pay $13.75 million in cash and 602,927 shares of Barnes & Noble’s common stock. The move follows an ...

              Full Story

              Penguin Random House's #GiveaBook program exceeds target of 25,000 books. Now extended through to Nov 29

              Dec 22 2014: Penguin Random House has expanded its GiveaBook program after exceeding its original goal of donating 25,000 to Save the Children in just three weeks. The publisher has now pledged to donate another 10,000 books for additional posts and tweets containing the #GiveaBook ...

                Full Story

                BookBrowse's 2014 Award Winners

                Dec 06 2014: The winners of the 2014 BookBrowse Awards are:
                Best Fiction: All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
                Best Debut: A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman
                Best Nonfiction: In The Kingdom of Ice by Hampton Sides
                Best YA: I'll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

                ...

                  Full Story

                  One-Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: Harmony
                    Harmony
                    by Carolyn Parkhurst
                    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
                  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
                    Commonwealth
                    by Ann Patchett
                    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
                  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
                    A Gentleman in Moscow
                    by Amor Towles
                    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Tea Planter's Wife
                    by Dinah Jefferies

                    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    Darling Days
                    by iO Tillett Wright

                    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Blood at the Root

                  Blood at the Root

                  "A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
                  - PW Starred Review

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  D C Y C Before T A H

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.