Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 21 of 224

View abbreviated list of news stories

Harper Lee to publish sequel to To Kill a Mockingbird

Feb 03 2015: An unpublished novel by Harper Lee is to finally see the light of day, 60 years after the US author put it aside to write To Kill a Mockingbird.

Go Set a Watchman, which features the character of Scout Finch as an adult, will be released on 14 July.

Lee wrote it ...

    Full Story

    Books-A-Million Majority Owners Offer to Buy Whole Company

    Feb 02 2015: Books-A-Million executive chairman Clyde B. Anderson and his family, who directly and in trusts own 58.2% of the company's outstanding common stock, have made an offer to buy the rest of the company for $2.75 a share--or about $17.3 million. Their offer values the ...

      Full Story

      Fire destroys millions of books at major Russian state library

      Feb 02 2015: A major fire that threatened to consume one of Russia's most important libraries was finally put out late Saturday, but scholars are only beginning to assess the damage from the flames, smoke and water. The fire broke out at the Institute of Scientific Information on ...

        Full Story

        Newbery & Caldecott Awards announced

        Feb 02 2015: The American Library Association announced their Youth Media Awards today. The Newbery medal went to The Crossover, a novel in verse by Kwame Alexander (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), and the Caldecott was awarded to The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend, ...

          Full Story

          Thorn Birds author, Colleen McCullough, dies aged 77

          Jan 29 2015: Colleen McCullough, author of twenty-five books including The Thorn Birds has died in a hospital on Norfolk Island aged 77. Norfolk Island, population ~2000, is a self-governing territory of Australia located between Australia and New Zealand.

            Full Story

            2014 Costa Book of the Year Announced

            Jan 27 2015: Helen Macdonald's memoir H Is For Hawk has been named Costa Book of the Year.

            The book is the author's personal account of training a goshawk as a way of dealing with grief following her father's death.

              Full Story

              First National Readathon Day raises $50,000 from nearly 200 participating bookstores, libraries, schools etc.

              Jan 26 2015: The first National Readathon Day, held in the USA on Saturday, drew crowds to stores that had events highlighting the occasion. Book lovers were asked to pledge to read for four hours starting at noon in their respective time zones--nearly 200 bookstores, libraries, ...

                Full Story

                First National Readathon Day this Saturday - like a walk-a-thon except you read!

                Jan 20 2015: Saturday, 24th Jan is the first National Readathon Day. NRD is a nation-wide marathon reading session from Noon to 4pm (in respective time zones).

                You can share your love of books and support programs that promote reading by pledging to read and fund-raise for the ...

                  Full Story

                  One-Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
                    Here I Am
                    by Jonathan Safran Foer
                    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
                  • Book Jacket: Harmony
                    Harmony
                    by Carolyn Parkhurst
                    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
                  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
                    Commonwealth
                    by Ann Patchett
                    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Tea Planter's Wife
                    by Dinah Jefferies

                    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    Darling Days
                    by iO Tillett Wright

                    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Blood at the Root

                  Blood at the Root

                  "A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
                  - PW Starred Review

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  D C Y C Before T A H

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.