Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 18 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Elizabeth McCracken wins $20,000 Story Prize for Thunderstruck

Mar 05 2015: Elizabeth McCracken has won The Story Prize for her collection Thunderstruck. The prize is worth $20,000

The other finalists for The Story Prize for books published in 2014 were authors Francesca Marciano for The Other Language (Pantheon) and Lorrie Moore for Bark (...

    Full Story

    Yasar Kemal, Turkish novelist and outspoken political critic, dies aged 91

    Mar 03 2015: Yasar Kemal, the master storyteller who repeatedly clashed with the Turkish state while emerging as his country’s first novelist of global stature, died on Saturday in Istanbul aged 91.

      Full Story

      B&N to separate its college business from retail & Nook

      Feb 26 2015: In a move that has surprised some in the industry, Barnes & Noble announced today that it plans to separate its college business from its retail stores and Nook digital units.

      While a split has been on the cards for about a year, it was generally thought that the ...

        Full Story

        Maya Angelou to be honored with postage stamp

        Feb 24 2015: Poet and bestselling author Maya Angelou will be honored with a Forever Stamp, the U.S. Postal Service announced Monday.

        Angelou, best known for I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, her searing memoir about life in the Jim Crow South, died May 28, 2014, at age 86.

          Full Story

          Today's students still prefer print

          Feb 24 2015: Textbook makers, bookstore owners and college student surveys all say millennials still strongly prefer print when studying - but also for personal reading. A University of Washington pilot study of digital textbooks found that a quarter of students still bought print ...

            Full Story

            Oscar winners based on books

            Feb 23 2015: Five of the eight best picture nominees at last night's Oscars were based on books or book related and a number were also winners, including:

            Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), which centers on a Broadway stage adaptation of Raymond Carver's story "What...

              Full Story

              New Dr. Seuss book to publish late July

              Feb 18 2015: Random House have announced that a new Dr. Seuss book will be published on July 28 - after the full text and illustrations of What Pet Should I Get? was found in the office of Ted Geisel (aka Dr. Seuss). It is believed to have been written in the late '50s/early '60s ...

                Full Story

                Faber & Faber and Farrar, Straus and Giroux terminate 17 year partnership in USA

                Feb 17 2015: Publishers Lunch report that Faber and Faber and FSG announced jointly on Tuesday that they will terminate their 17-year partnership in the American-based Faber and Faber, Inc. effective immediately. Farrar will retain the rights to all of the titles published through ...

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
                    by Bryn Greenwood

                    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    Underground Airlines
                    by Ben Winters

                    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.