Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 2 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

British author Sally Beauman, author of "Destiny" and other novels, dies

Jul 16 2016: British author Sally Beauman died on July 7 aged 71. Writing in The Guardian, Lisa Appignanesi described Beauman as "a proud, loyal, fiercely private, beautiful and generous woman--at all ages. Her intelligence was incisive and broad. She could tell you everything, not ...

    Full Story

    Dr Carla D. Hayden confirmed as 14th Librarian of Congress

    Jul 14 2016: Dr Carla D. Hayden has been confirmed, 74-18, by the U.S. Senate as the 14th Librarian of Congress, for a renewable 10-year term. Hayden was the longtime CEO of the Enoch Pratt Free Library system in Baltimore and a former president of the American Library Association. ...

      Full Story

      Book sales at brick and mortar bookstores rise 2% year on year

      Jul 12 2016: Publishers' trade book sales (i.e. books for general readers) at physical retail stores in the USA rose for the second year in a row in 2015, climbing 1.8%, to $4.15 billion, according to the Association of American Publishers' StatShot Annual. Physical store sales ...

        Full Story

        Jojo Moyes takes 3 of top 20 bestseller spots for first half of the year

        Jul 11 2016: Nielsen BookScan’s list of bestselling print books for the January–June period includes three editions of Jo-Jo Moyes' Me Before You. The book also came in at #2 on Amazon's Kindle bestseller list for approximately the same time period, beaten by The Girl in the Ice by ...

          Full Story

          Elie Wiesel dies aged 87

          Jul 02 2016: Elie Wiesel, Auschwitz survivor and author of more than 40 books has died aged 87 in New York, where he lived and had been a citizen since the 1960s.

          Born in Romania in 1928, he was deported to Auschwitz in 1944. After the war he became famous for writing about his ...

            Full Story

            Michael Herr, author of "Dispatches," dies aged 76

            Jun 27 2016: Michael Herr, who wrote Dispatches, a glaringly intense, personal account of being a correspondent in Vietnam that is widely viewed as one of the most visceral and persuasive depictions of the unearthly experience of war, died last Thursday. He was 76.

            The war in ...

              Full Story

              Austin Clark, author of The Polished Hoe, dies aged 81

              Jun 27 2016: Austin Clarke, the award-winning Barbadian-born author who wrote about the immigrant experience and being black in Canada, died Sunday at age 81.

              The author of at least eleven novels, six short-story collections, and four memoirs, Clarke is perhaps best remembered ...

                Full Story

                Apple e-book refunds begin today

                Jun 21 2016: Attorneys today confirmed that $400 million in refunds due readers following the end of the Apple e-book price-fixing case will begin flowing into customer accounts on June 21—with refunds for New York Times bestsellers approaching $7 per title purchased.

                In all, the...

                  Full Story

                  Member Benefits

                  Join Now!

                  Check the advantages!
                  Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

                    •  
                    • FREE
                    • MEMBER
                    • Range of media reviews for each book
                    • Excerpts of all featured books
                    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
                    • Browse by genre
                    • Book club discussions
                    • Book club advice and reading guides
                    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
                    •  
                    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
                    •  
                    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
                    •  
                    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
                    •  
                    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
                    •  
                    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
                    •  

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
                    The Bones of Grace
                    by Tahmima Anam
                    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.