Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 16 of 249

View abbreviated list of news stories

Bertelsmann ups PRH stake to 75%

Jul 11 2017: In a move that had been expected, Bertelsmann has increased its stake in Penguin Random House. After the deal is completed in September, Bertelsmann will have a 75% share of PRH with Pearson controlling the remaining 25%.

Full Story

Spencer Johnson, author of "Who Moved My Cheese" and "The One-Minute Manager", dies aged 78

Jul 10 2017: Spencer Johnson, a onetime physician and children’s book author, whose best-selling books on business management, including "The One-Minute Manager" and "Who Moved My Cheese?," sold millions of copies and inspired a cult-like following, died July 3 at a hospital in ...

Full Story

Lost Maurice Sendak picture book to be published next year

Jul 07 2017: An unpublished picture book by Maurice Sendak has been found hidden deep in his archives, five years after his death. The typewritten manuscript and illustrations, co-authored by Sendak’s longtime collaborator Arthur Yorinks, were discovered in Connecticut by Lynn ...

Full Story

Paddington Bear creator Michael Bond dies aged 91

Jun 28 2017: Michael Bond, the genial British author who created Paddington Bear, the polite, good-natured but disaster-prone little hero of children’s novels, picture and activity books, television series, and films, died at his home in London on Tuesday. He was 91.

In a 2014 ...

Full Story

Heaviest users of public libraries are Millennials

Jun 26 2017: Millennials in the U.S. are more likely to have visited a public library in the past year than any other adult generation. In a Pew Research Center survey from fall 2016, 53% of 18 to 35 year-olds said they had used a library or bookmobile in the previous 12 months, ...

Full Story

Oprah picks Behold the Dreamers for book club

Jun 26 2017: Imbolo Mbue's debut novel Behold the Dreamers is the latest "summer" pick for Oprah's Book Club. In a statement first available at Amazon, Winfrey says, "It's about race and class, the economy, culture, immigration and the danger of the us versus them mentality. And ...

Full Story

Stories about disability don't have to be sad

Jun 21 2017: The term "thought provoking" is over-used but that does describe eighth grader Melissa Shang's opinion piece in the New York Times in which she asks why "there are very few stories about kids in wheelchairs, and there are even fewer with a disabled person who is ...

Full Story

Tracy K. Smith named poet laureate of the United States

Jun 14 2017: Tracy K. Smith has been named the 22nd poet laureate of the United States. Smith's poetry has won her such top awards in her field as the James Laughlin Award, an Academy of American Poets Fellowship, and, for her 2011 collection Life on Mars, the Pulitzer Prize.

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.