Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 16 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

The 2014 Top Ten List of Frequently Challenged Books

Apr 14 2015: Each year the American Library Association publishes its Top 10 Most Challenged Books. Here is the latest list:

  1. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
    Reasons: anti-family, cultural insensitivity, drugs/alcohol/smoking, gambling...

    Full Story

    HarperCollins and Amazon agree multi-year publishing deal

    Apr 14 2015: Contrary to concern last week that Amazon and HarperCollins were heading for an impasse that would lead to the delisting of all HarperCollins (as happened to Hachette last year), HarperCollins issued a brief statement yesterday saying it had "reached an agreement with ...

      Full Story

      Nobel Prize-winning author Günter Grass dies aged 87

      Apr 13 2015: The writer Günter Grass, who broke the silences of the past for a generation of Germans, has died in hospital in Lübeck at the age of 87.

      German president Joachim Gauck led the tributes, offering his condolences to the writer’s widow Ute Grass. “Günter Grass moved, ...

        Full Story

        Ivan Doig dies aged 75

        Apr 10 2015: National Book Award winner for This House of Sky (memoir) and author of 13 novels, Ivan Doig died yesterday aged 75, of multiple myeloma. During the eight years of his illness, he wrote four novels - the last,Last Bus to Wisdom, will be published in August.

        "Doig ...

          Full Story

          Amazon threatens to drop HarperCollins

          Apr 09 2015: HarperCollins is "preparing to return" to an agency model for all e-book sales from April 14 which requires retailers to sell at prices set by the publisher.

          Last week, Business Insider, which is partly owned by Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos, said that the current contract ...

            Full Story

            The Literary Hub

            Apr 08 2015: There's a new website in town - The Literary Hub, created by Grove Atlantic Publishing and book site Electric Literature, in partnership with hundreds of publishers, booksellers and magazines. The aim being to 'celebrate the vitality of bricks-and-mortar bookstores'. ...

              Full Story

              Atticus Lish Wins the 2015 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

              Apr 07 2015: Atticus Lish won the $15,000 PEN/Faulkner Award on Tuesday for his debut novel, Preparation for the Next Life. In a statement released Tuesday morning, the judges praised Lish’s novel as a work of fiction that “scours and illuminates the vast, traumatized America that ...

                Full Story

                Magazine reviews still dominated by male authors & critics

                Apr 07 2015: The continuing bias towards men in the British and American literary establishment has been confirmed by a study released on Tuesday. Vida, a US organization championing women in literature, examined a wide range of publications from both sides of the Atlantic, ...

                  Full Story

                  Member Benefits

                  Join Now!

                  Check the advantages!
                  Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

                    •  
                    • FREE
                    • MEMBER
                    • Range of media reviews for each book
                    • Excerpts of all featured books
                    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
                    • Browse by genre
                    • Book club discussions
                    • Book club advice and reading guides
                    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
                    •  
                    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
                    •  
                    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
                    •  
                    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
                    •  
                    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
                    •  
                    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
                    •  

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
                    The Bones of Grace
                    by Tahmima Anam
                    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
                    by Bryn Greenwood

                    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.