Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 15 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Mathematician John F. Nash Jr, and his wife Alicia die in car crash

May 24 2015: Nobel Prize-winning mathematician John F. Nash Jr., known to many due to Sylvia Nasar's bestselling book, A Beautiful Mind, and the subsequent film of the same name, was killed on Saturday with his wife, Alicia, in a car crash. He was 86, she was 82. They were taking a ...

    Full Story

    Man Booker International prize 2015 goes to László Krasznahorkai

    May 19 2015: The Hungarian author László Krasznahorkai (pronounced Laas-lo Krasna-hor-kai) has won the Man Booker International prize for his “achievement in fiction on the world stage”. Chair of judges Marina Warner, the academic and writer, compared Krasznahorkai’s work to Kafka –...

      Full Story

      Portrait believed to be of Shakespeare found in old botany book

      May 19 2015: Botanist and historian Mark Griffiths believes he has cracked an "ingenious cipher" to identify Shakespeare in an engraving in a 16th-Century botany book. Griffiths made his discovery when he was researching the biography of pioneering botanist John Gerard (1545-1612), ...

        Full Story

        Little Free Library celebrates 3rd anniversary

        May 13 2015: In just three years the Little Free Library movement has grown from zero to 25,000 locations in 72 countries. More than 40 million books have changed hands through this network due to the efforts of volunteer stewards who install, curate and sustain the book exchanges. ...

          Full Story

          Children's book illustrator Marcia Brown dies

          May 07 2015: Children's book illustrator Marcia Brown died on April 28 at her home in Laguna Hills, Calif. She was 96.

          One of the country’s most lauded picture-book artists, Ms. Brown illustrated dozens of titles and won the Caldecott Medal three times. For some books, she also ...

            Full Story

            Two inaugural events for indie bookstores - in USA and Canada

            May 04 2015: Saturday saw two inaugural events for Indie bookstores, one in the USA, the other in Canada. In the USA, Independent Bookstore Day took off with a bang with about 400 indie bookstores across the country taking part (for background to this event see previous news stories...

              Full Story

              Author Ruth Rendell dies

              May 02 2015: Ruth Rendell, one of Britain's great mystery writers, has died aged 85 after a 50-year career. Author of the Chief Inspector Wexford novels and many standalone novels written under her own name, she also penned many writing as Barbara Vine.

              To quote The Guardian, "...

                Full Story

                Obama announces major book initiative for low-income students

                May 01 2015: President Obama has announced two initiatives intended to "strengthen learning opportunities by improving access to digital content and to public libraries."

                In the first initiative, major publishers including Macmillan, Simon & Schuster, Penguin Random House,...

                  Full Story

                  One-Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
                    Commonwealth
                    by Ann Patchett
                    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
                  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
                    A Gentleman in Moscow
                    by Amor Towles
                    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
                  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
                    I Contain Multitudes
                    by Ed Yong
                    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

                  First Impressions

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Blood at the Root

                  Blood at the Root

                  "A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
                  - PW Starred Review

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  D C Y C Before T A H

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.