Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 14 of 224

View abbreviated list of news stories

U.S. Dept of Justice called on to investigate Amazon's business practices

Jul 13 2015: In an unprecedented joint action, U.S. booksellers, authors, and literary agents called on the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) to investigate the business practices of Amazon.com. The action comes as similar efforts are underway in the European Union.

In a letter ...

    Full Story

    First chapter of Harper Lee's "Go Set a Watchman" now available in 3 newspapers

    Jul 10 2015: The first chapter of Harper Lee's "Go Set a Watchman" is now available to read in the Wall Street Journal (US), Guardian (UK) and Sydney Morning Herald (Aus). All three also have a recording of Reese Witherspoon reading the first chapter.

    The Wall Street Journal and...

      Full Story

      Poet Tate dies aged 71

      Jul 10 2015: Pulitzer Prize winning poet and long time University of Massachusetts professor James Tate died Wednesday aged 71.

      A distinguished professor of English at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, where he had taught since 1971, Mr. Tate was awarded the Pulitzer Prize...

        Full Story

        Lawrence Hill appointed to the Order of Canada

        Jul 07 2015: Author Lawrence Hill has been appointed to the Order of Canada for his writing representing black history in Canada and for his charitable efforts to help girls and women in Africa through the Aminata Fund, named for The Book of Negroes (published in the USA as Someone...

          Full Story

          Man Booker International and Foreign Fiction Prizes to merge

          Jul 07 2015: The Man Booker International Prize and the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize are to merge to create one annual award for a work of literary fiction translated into English.

          Jonathan Taylor, chair of the Man Booker Foundation, said at a press conference this morning ...

            Full Story

            Scribd dramatically cutting number of romance & erotica books in catalog as fans are "reading Scribd out of house and home"

            Jul 01 2015: EBook subscription service Scribd is slashing dramatically the number of romance and erotica ebooks in its catalog. According to Smashwords CEO Mark Coker "80-90 percent of Smashwords romance and erotica titles will be dropped by Scribd, including nearly all of our most...

              Full Story

              Apple loses federal appeal in e-book case. Will pay $450m

              Jul 01 2015: The Second U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in Manhattan has upheld a 2013 decision finding Apple liable for conspiring with publishers to raise the price of e-books. The 2-1 ruling follows three years of litigation, millions of dollars in legal fees and the decision by ...

                Full Story

                Novelist James Salter dies aged 90

                Jun 22 2015: James Salter, a writer who contemplated love, mortality and the lives of men of action in his novels and short stories and who built a quiet reputation as an extraordinary prose stylist, died June 19 in Sag Harbor, N.Y. He was 90.

                  Full Story

                  One-Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: Harmony
                    Harmony
                    by Carolyn Parkhurst
                    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
                  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
                    Commonwealth
                    by Ann Patchett
                    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
                  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
                    A Gentleman in Moscow
                    by Amor Towles
                    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    Darling Days
                    by iO Tillett Wright

                    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Tea Planter's Wife
                    by Dinah Jefferies

                    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Blood at the Root

                  Blood at the Root

                  "A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
                  - PW Starred Review

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  D C Y C Before T A H

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.