Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 13 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Go Set a Watchman sells 1.1 million copies in North America in first week

Jul 21 2015: Harper Lee's Go Set a Watchman has sold 1.1 million digital and physical copies in North America in its first week. HarperCollins says that Watchman is now the fastest-selling book in its history and has already reprinted multiple times so there are now 3.3 million ...

    Full Story

    US novelist E.L. Doctorow dies at 84

    Jul 21 2015: E.L. Doctorow, critically acclaimed author of the novels Ragtime and Billy Bathgate, has died in a New York hospital of complications from lung cancer. He was 84. In a 50-year career, Doctorow published 10 novels, a stage drama, two books of short fiction and ...

      Full Story

      U.S. Dept of Justice called on to investigate Amazon's business practices

      Jul 13 2015: In an unprecedented joint action, U.S. booksellers, authors, and literary agents called on the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) to investigate the business practices of Amazon.com. The action comes as similar efforts are underway in the European Union.

      In a letter ...

        Full Story

        First chapter of Harper Lee's "Go Set a Watchman" now available in 3 newspapers

        Jul 10 2015: The first chapter of Harper Lee's "Go Set a Watchman" is now available to read in the Wall Street Journal (US), Guardian (UK) and Sydney Morning Herald (Aus). All three also have a recording of Reese Witherspoon reading the first chapter.

        The Wall Street Journal and...

          Full Story

          Poet Tate dies aged 71

          Jul 10 2015: Pulitzer Prize winning poet and long time University of Massachusetts professor James Tate died Wednesday aged 71.

          A distinguished professor of English at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, where he had taught since 1971, Mr. Tate was awarded the Pulitzer Prize...

            Full Story

            Lawrence Hill appointed to the Order of Canada

            Jul 07 2015: Author Lawrence Hill has been appointed to the Order of Canada for his writing representing black history in Canada and for his charitable efforts to help girls and women in Africa through the Aminata Fund, named for The Book of Negroes (published in the USA as Someone...

              Full Story

              Man Booker International and Foreign Fiction Prizes to merge

              Jul 07 2015: The Man Booker International Prize and the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize are to merge to create one annual award for a work of literary fiction translated into English.

              Jonathan Taylor, chair of the Man Booker Foundation, said at a press conference this morning ...

                Full Story

                Scribd dramatically cutting number of romance & erotica books in catalog as fans are "reading Scribd out of house and home"

                Jul 01 2015: EBook subscription service Scribd is slashing dramatically the number of romance and erotica ebooks in its catalog. According to Smashwords CEO Mark Coker "80-90 percent of Smashwords romance and erotica titles will be dropped by Scribd, including nearly all of our most...

                  Full Story

                  One-Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
                    Commonwealth
                    by Ann Patchett
                    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
                  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
                    A Gentleman in Moscow
                    by Amor Towles
                    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
                  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
                    I Contain Multitudes
                    by Ed Yong
                    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

                  First Impressions

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Blood at the Root

                  Blood at the Root

                  "A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
                  - PW Starred Review

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  D C Y C Before T A H

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.