Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 13 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Lawrence Hill appointed to the Order of Canada

Jul 07 2015: Author Lawrence Hill has been appointed to the Order of Canada for his writing representing black history in Canada and for his charitable efforts to help girls and women in Africa through the Aminata Fund, named for The Book of Negroes (published in the USA as Someone...

    Full Story

    Man Booker International and Foreign Fiction Prizes to merge

    Jul 07 2015: The Man Booker International Prize and the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize are to merge to create one annual award for a work of literary fiction translated into English.

    Jonathan Taylor, chair of the Man Booker Foundation, said at a press conference this morning ...

      Full Story

      Scribd dramatically cutting number of romance & erotica books in catalog as fans are "reading Scribd out of house and home"

      Jul 01 2015: EBook subscription service Scribd is slashing dramatically the number of romance and erotica ebooks in its catalog. According to Smashwords CEO Mark Coker "80-90 percent of Smashwords romance and erotica titles will be dropped by Scribd, including nearly all of our most...

        Full Story

        Apple loses federal appeal in e-book case. Will pay $450m

        Jul 01 2015: The Second U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in Manhattan has upheld a 2013 decision finding Apple liable for conspiring with publishers to raise the price of e-books. The 2-1 ruling follows three years of litigation, millions of dollars in legal fees and the decision by ...

          Full Story

          Novelist James Salter dies aged 90

          Jun 22 2015: James Salter, a writer who contemplated love, mortality and the lives of men of action in his novels and short stories and who built a quiet reputation as an extraordinary prose stylist, died June 19 in Sag Harbor, N.Y. He was 90.

            Full Story

            Amazon to pay Kindle authors only for pages read, not books downloaded

            Jun 16 2015: Amazon is changing the way it pays authors royalties for participation in its Kindle Unlimited e-book lending library in a move that would appear to be less favorable for authors.

            Previously, Amazon paid royalties on the whole downloaded book if at least 10 percent ...

              Full Story

              Paul Bacon, influential designer of more than 6500 book jackets dies aged 91

              Jun 11 2015: You may not know his name but the chances are you've read many of his books. Paul Bacon, the influential designer of about 6500 book jacket covers including major literary works like Joseph Heller’s Catch-22 and Philip Roth’s Portnoy’s Complaint, died on Monday in ...

                Full Story

                European Commission opens antitrust investigation into Amazon

                Jun 11 2015: The European Commission has opened a formal antitrust investigation into certain business practices by Amazon in the distribution of ebooks. The Commission will in particular investigate certain clauses included in Amazon's contracts with publishers. These clauses ...

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    Underground Airlines
                    by Ben Winters

                    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.