"Waiting for Superman" soars in screen and print

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

"Waiting for Superman" soars in screen and print

Oct 20 2010

Waiting for 'Superman', the documentary directed by Davis Guggenheim about problems in the public school system and how to fix them, had a limited release October 8 and is now rolling out nationally. Last weekend the movie played in 182 theaters, was #18 and had ticket sales of $4,081 per show, which put it behind only the top two films, Jackass 3-D and Red. It's been lauded by many critics. Harvey Weinstein, who has nothing to do with the production, predicted it will win an Oscar.

The tie-in book is doing very nicely, too: this Sunday Waiting for 'Superman': How We Can Save America's Failing Public Schools..., hits #1 on the New York Times bestseller list!

More News Stories

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.