Amazon selling 180 Kindle books for every 100 hardcovers, but traditional book sales stable elsewhere

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Amazon selling 180 Kindle books for every 100 hardcovers, but traditional book sales stable elsewhere

Jul 22 2010

(7/20): According to its press release yesterday, Amazon claims to be selling 180 Kindle books for every 100 hardcovers; and to have sold three times as many Kindle books in the first half of 2010 compared to the first half of 2009. However it is still reticent about total Kindle sales or total eBooks sold.

(7/22) Lest Amazon's news gives the impression that traditional books are a dying breed across USA bookstores, a graph of combined sales at 51 large independent bookstores shows that their sales (of predominantly, if not exclusively, traditional books) is actually slightly up:

More News Stories

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.