iPad may reset downward spiral on e-book prices

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

iPad may reset downward spiral on e-book prices

Jan 28 2010

Publishers are looking on Apple's iPad as a chance to reset the downward spiral in e-book prices. Yesterday, when Steve Jobs announced the new iPad he also confirmed that five of the six largest publishers have signed on to provide e-book content for the new tablet. Hachette Book Group, HarperCollins Publishers, Macmillan, Penguin and Simon & Schuster are all on board, while a spokesman for Random House, the world's largest publisher of books for consumers, said the company would "look forward to our continuing conversations" with Apple.

Apple and publishers have agreed a business model that gives them more power over the price that customers pay for e-books - control that had been effectively lost with Amazon's Kindle. With Apple, the maximum price of an e-book will be tethered to the print price of the book so that most general fiction and nonfiction titles will be $12.99 to $14.99 with Apple taking 30% and the publishers taking 70%.

In the short term it is likely that authors and publishers will earn less from book sales on the iPad because Amazon subsidizes the low $9.99 price point on the Kindle by paying publishers a higher wholesale price equivalent to what booksellers typically pay for print editions. The worry for all publishers, though, has been that once the $9.99 price point had been firmly established in consumer's minds and Amazon had achieved dominance in the market place, that they would stop subsidizing the $9.99 price point and demand lower digital wholesale prices, which would make it difficult for publishers to make a profit on anything other than the bestselling books.

More News Stories

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.