iPad may reset downward spiral on e-book prices

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

iPad may reset downward spiral on e-book prices

Jan 28 2010

Publishers are looking on Apple's iPad as a chance to reset the downward spiral in e-book prices. Yesterday, when Steve Jobs announced the new iPad he also confirmed that five of the six largest publishers have signed on to provide e-book content for the new tablet. Hachette Book Group, HarperCollins Publishers, Macmillan, Penguin and Simon & Schuster are all on board, while a spokesman for Random House, the world's largest publisher of books for consumers, said the company would "look forward to our continuing conversations" with Apple.

Apple and publishers have agreed a business model that gives them more power over the price that customers pay for e-books - control that had been effectively lost with Amazon's Kindle. With Apple, the maximum price of an e-book will be tethered to the print price of the book so that most general fiction and nonfiction titles will be $12.99 to $14.99 with Apple taking 30% and the publishers taking 70%.

In the short term it is likely that authors and publishers will earn less from book sales on the iPad because Amazon subsidizes the low $9.99 price point on the Kindle by paying publishers a higher wholesale price equivalent to what booksellers typically pay for print editions. The worry for all publishers, though, has been that once the $9.99 price point had been firmly established in consumer's minds and Amazon had achieved dominance in the market place, that they would stop subsidizing the $9.99 price point and demand lower digital wholesale prices, which would make it difficult for publishers to make a profit on anything other than the bestselling books.

More News Stories

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.