The Glass Castle On Stage

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

The Glass Castle On Stage

Dec 15 2006

A one-woman show based on Jeannette Walls The Glass Castle opened in New York a few days ago.  The show will now travel to schools around the country as part of The Literature to Life program that presents performances of "significant American literary works".  Past adaptations have included The Secret Life of Bees, The Kite Runner and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. The program, which has been running for 15 years, aims to give students a new way to access literature by bringing to life works of fiction and nonfiction. Walls, whose memoir has more than one million copies in print in paperback alone, says, "To say that this is a dream come true is an understatement ... I think it is the most wonderful thing that could possibly happen to a book. This is a book about a tough adolescence, and if this performance can in any way affect these kids [so they] say, 'Hey, I'm not the only one,' it's just brilliant."

More News Stories

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Do Not Become Alarmed
    Do Not Become Alarmed
    by Maile Meloy
    Full disclosure: I've never had any desire to go on a cruise. I start getting antsy and ...
  • Book Jacket: Priestdaddy
    Priestdaddy
    by Patricia Lockwood
    Patricia Lockwood is a poet and the daughter of Greg Lockwood, a Catholic priest. While Catholic ...
  • Book Jacket: Before We Sleep
    Before We Sleep
    by Jeffrey Lent
    Katey Snow, aged seventeen, leaves home one night. "There was a void within her and one that could ...

Win this book!
Win News of the World

News of the World

A brilliant work of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T's S I Numbers

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.