Running with Scissors: The Furor Continues

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Running with Scissors: The Furor Continues

Dec 06 2006

The family depicted in Augusten Burrough's Running with Scissors, his 2002 memoir of a hyper-dysfunctional childhood, is telling its side of the story for the first time publicly in Vanity Fair in January (out next week). Members of the Turcotte family (called the Finches in Burrough's book) filed a defamation suit against Burroughs, his publisher, agent and editor in a Massachusetts court in 2005 that is still pending.  The suit raises broad questions about the ethical responsibilities of publishers.  claim that "the author, with the full complicity of the publisher, literally has fabricated events that never happened and manufactured controversy that never occurred."

The Turcottes claim in their court case and in the Vanity Fair article that the book not only included harmful inaccuracies and embellishments, but also failed to effectively conceal the family's identity. Quoting the suit, Buss Bissinger (author of the article) writes that "the author, with the full complicity of the publisher, literally has fabricated events that never happened and manufactured controversy that never occurred."

Bissinger told Publishers Weekly that it's ultimately a case of "he said, they said" for the court to settle. The larger question is whether publishers and writers have a moral obligation to inform people that they're going to be depicted in a book. The Turcottes say they didn't know about the book until after it was published.

More News Stories

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.