This Year in History - 1907

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

This Year in History - 1907

Jan 01 2008

In 1907:

  • Robert Baden-Powell led the first scout camp on Brownsea Island, England; the RMS Lusitania made its maiden voyage; a major financial crisis in the USA was narrowly avoided when J.P. Morgan and others set up a $25 million pool to invest in shares on the plunging New York Stock Exchange; Oklahoma was admitted as the 46th US state; the Diamond Sutra was discovered in China - the earliest example of block printing believed to date from 868; and
    Maria Montessori opened her first school and daycare center for working class children in Rome.
  • Against this backdrop, the following notable books were published: Osama of Oz by L Frank Baum, The Secret Agent by Joseph Conrad, The Longest Journey by E. M. Forster, The Tale of Tom Kitten by Beatrix Potter, The Overman by Upton Sinclair, Madame de Treymes by Edith Wharton and Not George Washington by P.G. Wodehouse.
  • In the world of art, Impressionism was giving way to new styles: Claude Monet painted Water Lilies Giverny #3, Pablo Picasso painted Les Demoiselles d'Avignon, Henri Rousseau painted The Snake Charmer, and Gustav Klimt produced a number of paintings including The Kiss.
  • Notable musical works of 1807 include Edward Elgar's The Wand of Youth, Gustav Holst's A Somerset Rhapsody and Rachmaninoff's Symphony No.2 in E minor.
  • W.H. Auden was born, as were Daphne du Maurier, Rachel Carson and Robert Heinlein.
  • Mark Twain received an honorary doctorate of laws degree from Oxford University; and the Nobel Prize for Literature was won by Rudyard Kipling.  The first Nobel Prize for Literature was won by Sully Prudhomme in 1901; Sully died in 1907.

Previous stories, "This year in 1607, 1707 & 1807".

More News Stories

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.