This year in history - 1707

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

This year in history - 1707

Dec 23 2007

In 1707.....

  • Isaac Newton's Arithmetica Universalis is first published but Newton is so unhappy with the work that he refuses to have his name appear as author and considered purchasing all the copies so he could have them destroyed.
  • The Act of Union joining England and Scotland is passed and the first parliament of the united Kingdom of Great Britain sits.
  • Jonathan Swift published A Critical Essay upon the Faculties of the Mind, one of the many essays, tracts, pamphlets and poems he wrote before writing Gulliver's Travels, some twenty years later, for which he is best remembered.
  • English novelist and dramatist Henry Fielding was born. Best remembered for The History of Tom Jones, a Foundling he also holds a place in the history of law-enforcement having founded the Bow Street Runners, London's first professional police force. 
  • Charles Wesley, a leader of the Methodist movement and younger brother of John Wesley, is born. Today Charles is best remembered for the many hymns he wrote such as Hark! The Herald Angels Sing, Love Divine, All Loves Excelling and Christ the Lord is Risen Today.
  • Japan's Mount Fuji erupts for the last time to date.
Previous story, "This year in 1607". Coming next, "This year in 1807".

More News Stories

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.